1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements

About K-State

2019 All-University Achievements


• Top scholar: Clara Wicoff becomes K-State's 35th Truman Scholarship recipient.

• Champs again: K-State again takes Big 12 Recyclemania crown.

• Biodefense stars: Work of K-State's Nancy and Jerry Jaax focus of National Geographic's "THE HOT ZONE."

• Rising stars: Chemistry's Ryan Rafferty and grain science and industry's Yi Zheng receive CAREER awards from National Science Foundation.

• Foundation for success: KSU Foundation board of directors receives 2018-2019 John W. Nason Award for Board Leadership.

• The write way: Tim Dayton's book on American poetry and World War I nominated for two prestigious honors: James Russell Lowell Prize and John Hope Franklin Prize.

• Best on campus, in state: Po-Yu "Tony" Lai earns top student worker honors from K-State, state of Kansas.

• The write way: Newest book by history's James Sherow nominated for 2019 Stubbendieck Great Plains Distinguished Book Prize.

• Up-and-comer: Geography's Jida Wang receives Early Career Award from National Association of Geographers' remote sensing speciality group.

• Prestigious fellowship winner: New physics doctoral graduate earns PROBIST Postdoctoral Fellowship.

• Lessons in civility: Tim Shaffer writer, editor for new book on political discourse.

• National kinesiology kudos: Four kinesiology students earn recognition from American Kinesiology Association.

• Writing the standard: Walter Dodd and colleague publish third edition of widely use textbook on freshwater ecology.

• International reputation for success: Architectural engineering and construction science team again places highly in international competition.

• Arresting new read: Criminologist and colleague publish new edition of book on cybercrime and society.

• Award-winning partnership: K-State and co-collaborators in Great Plains Grazing project receive honor from National Institute of Food and Agriculture.

Sociology faculty, students earn national awards from Rural Sociological Society.

• Three-minute success: Public health master's student wins regional Three-Minute Thesis competition.

• Award of distinction: Journalism's Louise Benjamin receives Broadcast Education Association's Distinguished Education Service Award.

• National standout: K-State No. 2 on list of nation's 50 best public universities.

• Prestigious scholarship:Two students earn the Critical Language Scholarship from the U.S. Department of State.

• Meeting the highest standards: Social work program accreditation reaffirmed through 2026.

• More than a game: Polytechnic brings UAS expertise to arena football.

• Building their future: Five construction science and management students earn national scholarships from an Associated General Contractors foundation.

• International scholar:History's Andrew Orr awarded fellowship to study at the Centre for French History and Culture at the University of St. Andrews.

• Among the best: Interior design's Migette Kaup named fellow of the Interior Design Educators Council.

• Career kudos:Agronomy's Dallas Peterson and Anita Dille earn honors from the Weed Science Society of America. Peterson is named fellow of the society, and Dille will serve as its vice president.

• Master storyteller: Journalism and Mass Communications' Tom Hallaq receives AVA Gold Award for documentary on pipe organ at All Faiths Chapel.

• Always the best: K-State's Black Student Union named tops in Big 12 for 11th time in last 14 years.

• A-plus architects: Tim de Noble, Robert Condia named fellows of the American Institute of Architects.

• Dialed in for success: Student radio station KSDB-FM earns three national honors.

• NEXT for success: Interior architecture & product design student wins Steelcase's NEXT competition.

• Landing a big one: Biology professor honored with Fisheries Excellence Award.

• Future star: Educational leadership assistant professor receives Emerging Scholar Award.

• Building successful futures: Architectural engineering students earn prestigious national, regional scholarships.

• Striking the right note: Music's Phil Payne selected fellow of the Modern Band Higher Education Program.

• Successful landing: Polytechnic airport management student earns prestigious scholarship from Airports Council International.

• Cited for success: American College of Sports Medicine names David C. Poole Citation Award winner.

• Powerful impact: Kinesiology doctoral student receives National Strength and Conditioning Association scholarship.

• 'Key' honors: K-State's Blue Key recognized with three national chapter awards.

• Excellence assured: AASCB extends accreditation of the College of Business Administration's business and accounting programs, signifying both offer the highest standards in business education.

• Outstanding agronomist: Society of Range Management names Walter Fick a fellow.

• Super scholar: Political science's Jeff Pickering the 2019 recipient of the Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar Award by the International Studies Association.

• Intervention innovator: College of Education's Mickey Losinski earns 2019 Council of Children with Behaviorial Disorders' Interventionist Award for his scholarly work in the field.

• Diverse designer: APDesign's Vibhavari Jani receiving Foundation Diversity Award from the International Interior Design Association.

• Fashion forward: Apparel design and production student to show designs at Kansas City Fashion Week.

• EPA recognition: K-State wins regional Food Recovery Challenge Award.

• Roll out the red carpet: Theatre's Jerry Jay Cranford picks up best director honors from the Omaha Entertainment and Arts Awards.

• All that jazz: National festival recognizes percussion professor for excellence in Latin music and jazz education.

• Oh, the places they will go: Four K-State students recipients of the congressionally funded Gilman Scholarship for education abroad.

• Excellence by design: Architecture student wins international design competition.

• Mic drop: KSDB-FM's program director wins scholarship from the Broadcast Education Association.

• Gubernatorial appointment: Madai Rivera joins Gov. Kelly's Education Council.

• Better than the pros: Journalism students top professionals in Kansas Press Association contest.

• Purple power: K-State creative teams earn record-setting 42 CASE awards.

• Cybersecurity surety: Computer science graduate students earn honor from Android Security Awards Program

* Rising star: Architectural engineering and construction science's Julia Keen named to top 20 list in HVAC.

• Academic booster: College of Education's Kelly Briggs recipient of Phi Kappa Phi Love of Learning Award.

• Greatest showman: School of Music, Theatre, and Dance's Jerry Jay Cranford earns best directing honors.

• State's best: Kansas Association for Public Purchasing Professionals names K-State's Cathy Oehms its Manager of the Year.