1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2023 Faculty Achievements

About K-State

2023 Faculty Achievements

• High note: Kurt Gartner and Amy Guffey to premiere composition at International Clarinet Conference.

• Preserving excellence: Lisa Rubin and Ryan Otto launch open access repository of Academic Athletic Journal. 

• Breaking the barrier: Colby Moorberg receives NIFA Higher Education Challenge Grant.

• International scholar: Adulsak “Otto” Chanyakorn earns fellowship award. 

• Super star: Jerry Jay Cranford to star in 'The Prom' musical and direct "Dreamgirls" in KC.

• Professor published: Valerie Padilla Carroll publishes acclaimed book. 

• Write stuff: Behzad Ghanbarian publishes book on unconventional reservoirs. 

• Only the BEST: Walter McNeil selected for panel at BEST-Rad Summit.

• Sixth edition published: James Carpenter publishes sixth edition of "Exotic Animal Formulary."

• Grant secured: Chuancheng Duan to receive $1.2 million in DOE funding for pair of research projects to reduce methane emissions. 

• One of 10: Allison Louthan named Early Career Fellow of Ecological Society of America. 

• NSF success: Artem Rudenko and Daniel Rolles part of team awarded $90.8 million from National Science Foundation. 

• Recognized thrice: Terry O'Banion receives national and international honors. 

• Career achievements: Tendai Gadzikwa, Won Min Park and Sonny Lee receive NSF CAREER awards.

• Finding new treatments: Revathi Govind awarded grant to study pathogenic features of a microbe. 

• Leader recognized: Agricultural Business Council of Kansas City will honor Marty Vanier. 

• Perfect premiere: Bryan Pinkall, Alyssa Morris and Amanda Arrington premiere concert In New Zealand commemorating artists from World War I.

• Give them credit: Jeff Pickering and Michael E. Flynn named editor-in-chief and associate editor of international journal. 

• National leader: Tim Musch elected president of American Physiological Society. 

• Top editor: Anthony Ferraro named co-editor-in-chief for Journal of Divorce and Remarriage. 

• Why the decline?: David Haukos awarded grant to study bird population declines. 

• Editing expertise: J. Spencer Clark named to editorial team of international journal. 

• Natural leader: Chuancheng Duan receives grant for co-generation of liquid chemicals and electricity from natural gas. 

• New book: Yolanda Broyles-González publishes book on transnational Mexican music movement. 

• Outstanding advisor: Logan Britton receives national Blue Key award. 

• Top researcher: P.V. Vara Prasad named in top 1% of world’s influential and highly cited researchers for 2022.  

Carnegie communicator: Nancy Muturi receives Carnegie fellowship to collaborate with Kenyan university. 

Top crop scientist: Elizabeth "Beth" Guertal, receives Presidential Award of the Crop Science Society of America. 

Accelerating accessibility: Siny Joseph is among a team of five researchers who have been awarded grant funding from the National Science Foundation Convergence Accelerator program. 

• Distinguished professors: Timothy Musch and Uwe Thumm receive Higuchi-KU research awards. 

• Awesome astronomer: Bharat Ratra named fellow of the American Astronomical Society. 

• Authoring integrity: Camilla J. Roberts co-edits book providing educators and students with 66 case studies on academic integrity. 

• Published professor: Briana Nelson Goff publishes new book exploring effects of war deployment and trauma on military couples. 

• Emerging scholar: Alex Red Corn was selected as one of 15 scholars who are working to improve the lot of humanity. 

• Top geographer: Bimal Paul recognized as American Association of Geographers fellow. 

• Stopping the spread: Caterina Scoglio receives grant to study disease spread and long-distance dispersal of pathogens.