1. K-State home
  2. »News
  3. »May 9, 2018


Innovation Partners
2005 Research Park Circle
Manhattan, KS 66503


Spring 2018 Faculty Development Awards and University Small Research Grants Awarded

Congratulations to the following awardees.

Faculty Development Awards
  • Gary Brase, psychological sciences, Human Behavior and Evolution Society annual meeting, Amsterdam, Netherlands, July 4-7, 2018, $3,113. 

  • Alyssa Morris, School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, “Collision Etudes” performance at 2018 International Double Reed Convention, Granada, Spain, August 25-September 2, 2018, $3,200.

  • Nora Bello, statistics, XXIX International Biometric Conference, “Hierarchical Bayesian Structural Equation Modeling of Heterogeneous Relationships between Performance Outcomes in Animal Production Systems,” Barcelona, Spain, July 8-13, 2018, $4,100. 

  • Wendy Matlock, English, 21st Bicentennial Congress of the New Chaucer Society, Toronto, Canada, July 10-15, 2018, $1,464. 

  • Jennifer Vellenga, School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, Arctic Congress 2018, Women of the UArctic Summit: Reflecting Gender Perspectives in the Arctic through Art, Directing Whale Song by Chantal Bilodeau, Helsinki, Finland, September 3-7, 2018, $2,740. 

  • Maria Teresa DePaoli, modern languages, 11th Screenwriting Research Network International Conference, Milan, Italy, September 13-15, 2018, $2,750. 

  • Jida Wang, geography, European Space Agency "25 Years of Progress in Radar Altimetry" Symposium, Azores Archipelago, Portugal, September 24-29, 2018, $3,317.

  • Melinda Cro, modern languages, Congrés NASSCFL 2018, Universita del Salentro, Lecee, Italy, June 27-30, 2018, $2,130.

  • Edward Nowlin, Marketing, AMS World Marketing Congress, “How Workplace Isolation Impacts Salesperson Performance,” Porto, Portugal, June 27-29, 2018, $1,845.

  • Michael Kanost, biochemistry and molecular biophysics, 10th International Workshop on Molecular Biology and Genetics of the Lepidoptera, "Biochemistry of Blue Blood: hemolymph plasma proteins in innate immune responses of Manduca sexta," Kolympari, Crete, Greece, August 19-25, 2018, $2,000. 

  • Jin Lee, psychological sciences, 13th European Academy of Occupational Health Psychology Conference, “Socio-Economic Factors of Safety Climate” and “Numbing Effect of Hazardous Works among Temporary Workers,” Lisbon, Portugal, September 5-7, 2018, $3,300.

  • DeAnn Presley, agronomy, 21st International Soil Tillage Research Organization International Conference, “Removing crop residue in continuous no-tillage systems: Soil and productivity effects are site-specific,” Paris, France, September 24-27, 2018, $2,959.

University Small Research Grants
  • James Johnson, School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, "New Music for Chamber Ensembles: Commissioning works for trumpet, horn and piano,” $6,465.

  • Shannon Skelton, School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, “Chicago Workers Theatre/ Chicago Repertory Group, 1933-1947,” $1,631.

  • Erin Wiersma, art, “Prairie Performance Drawings,” $4,410.

  • Sara Luly, modern languages, “Grauel des Krieges: Gothic Depictions of Wartime Suffering in German Literature 1813-1830,” $3,908.

  • Geraldine Craig, art, “The Earl Project,” $3,660.

  • Craig Parker, School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, research at the UCLA Department of Special Collections, "Igor Stravinsky at the Ojai Music Festival,” $3,515. 

  • Heather Woods, communication studies, “Smart Homes as Living Laboratories,” $3,393.

  • Emily Mailey, kinesiology, “Enhancing Exercise Communication: Do our messages matter?” $4,000.

  • Gregory Paul, communication studies, “Communicating Restorative Justice in the United States,” $4,988.

Faculty Development Awards reviewers were Ruth Gurgel, music; Briana Nelson-Goff, family studies & human services; Mary Kohn, English; Saeed Kahn, engineering technology; Sara Gragg, animal sciences & industry; Punit Prakash, electrical and computer engineering; Joel Anderson, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; Paige Adams, K-State Olathe.

University Small Research Grants reviewers were Katie Heinrich, kinesiology; Wendy Matlock, English; Sherri Martinie, curriculum and instruction; Martin Talavera, food, nutrition, dietetics, and health; Mary Lou Marino, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; Necia Chronister, modern languages; Sam Bell, political science; and Melinda Cro, modern languages. 

The next deadline for applications is October 1, 2018. Find out more about the program and submission procedures.