1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Geography department honors students with awards

K-State Today

May 11, 2017

Geography department honors students with awards

Submitted by Chuck Martin

The geography department presented its departmental awards and scholarships at its annual honors and awards reception on May 3. 

The following students received awards: 

Katlyn Krause, junior, William Grimm Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship. 

Sarah Lamm, senior, Huber Self Scholarship in Geography. 

Abbey Marcotte, senior, H.L. "Sy" Seyler Undergraduate GIScience Scholarship. 

John Paul Rogers, senior, National Council for Geographic Education/American Association of Geographers Excellence in Scholarship Award. 

Vu Vo, freshman, Robert H. Williams Undergraduate Geography Scholarship. 

Laura Welti, senior, Leonard LeBlanc Outstanding Undergraduate Major Award. 

Avantika Ramekar, doctoral student, Milton and Emma Jean Rafferty Gamma Theta Upsilon Geography Scholarship. 

Matt Allen, master's student, Mary Dobbs Outstanding Citizen Award. 

Gabriel Granco, doctoral student, and Avantika Ramekar, doctoral student, Geography Graduate Student Leadership Award. 

Mitchell Braget, master's student, and Christy Jean, doctoral student, Stephen and Susan White Geography GTA Award. 

Colin Bailey, senior; Justin Jones, senior; Abbey Marcotte, senior; and Michael Molloy, senior, Steven Kale Undergraduate Research Fellowships. 

Meng Ding, master's student, and Fangfang Yao, doctoral student, Steven Kale Graduate Research Fellowship. 

Subarna Chatterjee, doctoral student; Avantika Ramekar, doctoral student; and Christy Jean, doctoral student, Geography Graduate Research grants.