1. K-State home
  2. »Leadership Communication Ph.D.
  3. »Our Faculty

Leadership Communication Ph.D.

Leadership Communication Doctoral Program

Kansas State University
207 Leadership Studies
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-6099 ph
steffy@k-state.edu

Our faculty

This collaborative program includes faculty from K-State's department of communications and agricultural education, department of communication studiesStaley School of Leadership Studies, A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications and Institute for Civic Discourse and Democracy. Learn more about our faculty below.

Department of communications and agricultural education

Jason Ellis

Jason Ellis

Professor, agricultural communications and journalism
jdellis@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Iowa State University

Research areas: 

Gaea Hock

Gaea Hock

Associate professor, agricultural education
ghock@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Texas Tech University

Research areas: Youth development; teaching methodologies; mentoring relationships and development

Jonathan Ulmer

Jonathan Ulmer

Associate professor, agricultural education
julmer@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Missouri, Columbia

Research areas: Adoption of innovations; program evaluation; STEM integration in agriculture

 Department of communication studies

Sean Eddington

Sean M. Eddington

Associate professor
seaneddington@ksu.edu | Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D., Purdue University

Research areas: New media; organizing and organizational communication; gender

Soo-Hye Han

Soo-Hye Han

Associate professor
soohye@ksu.edu | Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Texas, Austin

Research areas: Political communication; racial discourse; Korean diaspora

Colene Lind

Colene Lind

Assistant professor
colenejlind@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Texas, Austin

Research areas: Political rhetoric and language; scientific and environmental decision-making; public participation

Gregory Paul

Gregory Paul

Associate professor, department head
gregpaul@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Texas A&M University

Research areas: Conflict management; restorative justice; organizing and organizations

Timothy Shaffer

Timothy Shaffer

Assistant professor
tjshaffer@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Cornell University

Research areas: Civic discourse/deliberation in higher education; organizations and communities; civic professionals; theory and practice of democracy

Heather Woods

Heather Woods

Assistant professor, director of graduate studies
hwoods@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Research areas: Digital rhetoric; critical theory and power; communication, media and technology

Staley School of Leadership Studies

Trish Gott

Trisha Gott

Associate director, assistant professor
tcgott@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ed.D. Kansas State University

Research areas: Student leadership education; leadership development; global leadership education and development

Brandon Kliewer

Brandon W. Kliewer

Associate professor
bkliewer@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Georgia

Research areas: Civic leadership; deliberative civic engagement; theory and practice of democracy

Kerry Priest

Kerry L. Priest

Associate professor
kerryp@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Virginia Polytechnic institute and State University

Research areas: Leadership learning and development; leadership educator professional development; qualitative and engaged methods

Tim Steffensmeier

Tim Steffensmeier

Professor, director of leadership communication doctoral program
steffy@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Texas, Austin

Research areas: Public deliberation; civic leadership; argumentation

Mary Hale Tolar

Mary Hale Tolar

Director, associate professor
Mary Lynn and Warren Staley chair for leadership
mtolar@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ed.D. Kansas State University

Research areas: Civic leadership; women in leadership; social movements

Andrew Wefald

Andrew Wefald

Associate professor
wefald@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Kansas State University

Research areas: Leadership; leadership coaching; community engagement

A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Raluca Cozma

Raluca Cozma

Associate professor, associate director of graduate studies
cozma@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Louisiana State University

Research areas: Political communication; international communication; media effects and credibility 

Jacob Groshek

Jacob Groshek

Ross Beach chair in emerging media research, associate professor
groshek@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D., Mass Communication, Indiana University

Research areas: Media technology; social media and big data analytics; mis/disinformation in political and health communication

Nikhil Moro

Nikhil Moro

Associate professor
nmoro@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. Ohio State University

Research areas: Digital media law; emerging technologies; international communication

Nancy Muturi

Nancy Muturi

Professor
nmuturi@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Iowa

Research areas: Community-based participatory research; health communication; communication for social and behavior change

Sam Mwangi

Sam Mwangi

Associate professor
scmwangi@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of South Carolina

Research areas: Media and civic engagement; international communication; political communication

Steve Smethers

Steven Smethers

Associate professor, interim director
smethers@ksu.edu, Read mu complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Missouri

Research areas: Media and community engagement; news deserts; media history

Alec Tefertiller

Alec Tefertiller

Assistant professor
alect@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Oregon

Research areas: Digital media; new media technologies; social capital

Institute for Civic Discourse and Democracy

David Procter

David Procter

Professor, director of Institute of Civic Discourse and Democracy
dprocter@ksu.edu, Read my complete bio

Education: Ph.D. University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Research areas: