1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »College of Veterinary Medicine presents annual teaching awards

K-State Today

November 11, 2021

College of Veterinary Medicine presents annual teaching awards

Submitted by Joe Montgomery

Drs. Pradeep Malreddy, Lisa Pohlman and Emily Reppert

Three faculty members have been recognized for preclinical teaching excellence in the College of Veterinary Medicine. Pradeep Malreddy, Lisa Pohlman and Emily Reppert were each named as the respective top teachers for the first, second and third years of instruction, as voted on by each respective class of students for their teaching efforts in the 2020-2021 school year.

"Drs. Malreddy, Pohlman and Reppert are all excellent and engaged teachers, completely immersed in their classrooms and who also spend a great deal of their personal time to provide additional instruction for our students," said James Roush, associate dean for academic programs and student success. "It is fitting that these deserving instructors were recognized with awards that are chosen by the students they instructed during the previous year."

Malreddy was presented with the 2021 Boehringer Ingelheim Teaching Excellence in the First Year Award for outstanding instruction of first-year veterinary students. He received a Bachelor of Veterinary Science in India in 2001 and a master's degree at K-State in 2009. Malreddy is a clinical assistant professor in the anatomy and physiology department. He teaches gross anatomy, microanatomy, introduction to research, veterinary neuroscience and veterinary physiology to first-year veterinary students.

"Thank you, class of 2024; you are a great class!" Malreddy said, addressing those students who voted for him. "You represent the best of the best and the future of this noble profession. It's my honor and privilege to help facilitate your learning in the first-year DVM curriculum. May the force be always with you!"

Pohlman was named recipient of the 2021 Elanco Teaching Excellence Award for outstanding instruction of second-year veterinary students. She won the second-year teaching award in 2017 and the Zoetis Distinguished Teacher award in 2019. Pohlman received her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine in 2001 from the University of Guelph in Canada and a master's degree from Auburn University in Alabama in 2007. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists and is an associate professor in the diagnostic medicine and pathobiology department.

"I am passionate about teaching; working with students is so rewarding and such a valuable contribution to the field of veterinary medicine," Pohlman said. "One of the reasons it is so rewarding is that we must work collectively to overcome challenges. Certainly, the limits on interaction imposed by COVID mitigation posed unprecedented challenges and I feel privileged to have been able to work with the class of 2023 because of their dedication to learning and collaborative spirit. Thank you for this award; it is an honor to work with such committed students."

Reppert was chosen as recipient of the 2021 Teaching Excellence in the Third Year Award sponsored by Merck Animal Health. This is the second time she has received this teaching award, previously honored in 2017. Reppert earned her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine in 2010 from Colorado State University and completed a master's degree and large animal internal medicine residency at Oklahoma State University in 2014. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. She currently teaches food animal medicine, surgery and clinical skills to third-year veterinary students.

"I am humbled by this award," Reppert said. "Teaching is a team sport and not possible without the support of the amazing people I get to work with every day. I am so proud of all our students and am grateful to be a small part of their education. They are wonderful."