Environmental Health & Safety Committee

All University personnel are responsible for maintaining a safe workplace. A strong, active Environmental Health & Safety (EHS) Committee is instrumental in promoting a culture of safety. EHS committee members can identify hazardous conditions or unsafe practices and help resolve these or discuss them with leadership. University policy (PPM Chapter 3740) requires that colleges/departments maintain an EHS Committee.

Committee members may obtain information and assistance by contacting the K-State Department of Environmental Health and Safety, 135 Dykstra Hall, 1628 Claflin Rd., Manhattan, KS 66506, 785-532-5856. The Department of Environmental Health & Safety provides consultation and oversight of safety and compliance for the institution.

In addition, K-State has a Campus Environmental Health and Safety Committee at the university level (presidential committee 8050) that serves as an umbrella committee to other safety committees to coordinate safety-related activities on K-State campuses and to support and promote university-wide safety and health. The Campus EHS Committee members are appointed by the Vice President and Chief Operations Officer, Faculty Senate, and Student Senate. The core responsibilities of the Campus EHS Committee are: 1) acting as the oversight committee for the administrative units (Provost, VP and Chief Operations Officer, and VP for Institutional Advancement), 2) evaluating College EHS Committee efforts, and 3) developing university-wide policies for Environmental Health & Safety. The College EHS Committee reports through the Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.

Presenting an Issue

If you would like to suggest an issue to the Campus EHS Committee or have a concern, please send an e-mail to safety@ksu.edu with the phrase "EHS Committee" in the subject line and it will be forwarded to the committee.