1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »K-State First seeks nominations for annual First-Year Advocate awards

K-State Today

December 1, 2020

K-State First seeks nominations for annual First-Year Advocate awards

Submitted by Brent Weaver

K-State First seeks nominations for its First-Year Advocate awards; one for a current faculty/staff member of K-State, the other for a current student.

Through this award, we hope to identify some of the unsung heroes of campus — both faculty/staff and students — who go above and beyond to support first-year students.

As you create your nomination, consider the following. 

How does your nominee:

  • Engage with first-year students?
  • Help students succeed academically?
  • Build community?
  • Show they value equity and inclusion?
  • Empower their students?
  • Help their students find purpose and achieve their goals?

Previous First-Year Advocate award winners are not eligible to win. Previous winners include Tamara Bauer, faculty/staff; Haley Weinberg, student; Don Saucier, faculty/staff; Bailey Porter, student; Mike Finnegan, faculty/staff; and Krista Everhart, student.

Nominations are due by noon on Monday, Dec. 21. Please use the nomination survey to submit your nomination.

If you have any questions, please email Brent Weaver at bweaver2@k-state.edu.  

In this issue

News and research
Personnel changes
Kudos, publications and presentations
Newsletters, magazines and blogs
University life