1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Kansas State University welcomes its newest class of undergraduate students

K-State Today

September 5, 2018

Kansas State University welcomes its newest class of undergraduate students

Submitted by Office of Undergraduate Studies

On Aug. 19, Kansas State University inaugurated the 2018-2019 academic year by welcoming its newest class of undergraduate students to campus through New Student Convocation. Despite the rain, a great crowd was on hand to hear administrators, faculty, students and recent alumni talk about how K-State students can make the most of the opportunities available to them while pursuing an undergraduate education.

The Office of Undergraduate Studies thanks the following departments and individuals for their vision, hard work and dedication to the success of the New Student Convocation at Kansas State University.

Program speakers: President Richard B. Myers; Provost and Executive Vice President Charles Taber; professors Greg Eiselein and Steve Smethers; Megan McCall, '08 and '11; Bryce Huschka, '08; student leaders Eddie Genovese, Selena Hernandez and Clara Wicoff; and Darrell Reese.

Kudos: The Kansas State University Faculty Brass Quintet, featuring Paul Hunt, Jim Johnson, Jacqueline Fassler-Kerstetter, Craig Parker and Steven Maxwell; Terry Ferguson; and choir members Sara Flessner, Jaran Hedstrom, Ryan Hernandez, Morgan Higgins, Oliver Hutchison, Willie Michaels, Paola Ramirez, and Lauren Taylor, soloist.

Very special thanks: The K-State Air Force and Army ROTC; staging, lighting, video, facilities, open captioning and sound crews; Mortar Board Senior Honor Society; President's Cabinet; K-State Athletics operations staff; Department of Housing and Dining resident assistants; Council of Deans; Student Governing Association president and vice president; Aimee Kraus; and Natalie Beharry, U.S. Air Force Major Brad Caywood, Kevin Cook, Bill Harlan, Nathaniel Hancock, Debbie Harper, Cindy Jeffrey, Chris Jordan, Gardner Jordan, Nick Lander, Michelle Langvardt, David MacKay, Jim Muller, Jared Nietfeld, Robert Nelson, Heather Reed and Anne Rubash.

In this issue

News and research
Kudos, publications and presentations
Campus construction and maintenance
University life
Volunteer opportunities