1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Geography honors students with departmental awards

K-State Today

May 13, 2015

Geography honors students with departmental awards

Submitted by Chuck Martin

The geography department presented its departmental awards and scholarships at its annual honors and awards banquet May 8. The following received awards:

Katia Chavira, freshman, received the William Grimm Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship.

Megan McHaney, junior, received the H.L. "Sy" Seyler Undergraduate GIScience Scholarship.

Spencer McFall, senior, received the Leonard H. LeBlanc Outstanding Undergraduate Major Award.

Livia Cirnu, sophomore, received the Milton and Emma Jean Rafferty Gamma Theta Upsilon Geography Scholarship.

Joseph Hunninghake, senior, received the Robert H. Williams Undergraduate Geography Scholarship.

Connor Kijowski, sophomore, received the Huber Self Scholarship in Geography.

Caitlin Dye, senior, and Edward Pennell, senior, received the National Council for Geographic Education/Association of American Geographers Excellence in Scholarship Award.

Heidi Mehl, doctoral student, received the Stephen and Susan White Geography GTA Excellence Award.

William Wetherholt, doctoral student, received the Geography Graduate Student Leadership Award.

Lisa Tabor, doctoral students, and Robert Briwa, master's degree student, received the Mary Dobbs Outstanding Citizen Award.

Emily Mellicant, master's degree student, and Nick Patch, doctoral student, received the Rumsey Bissell Marston Scholarship for Graduate Fieldwork in Environmental Geography.