1. K-State home
  2. »University Operations
  3. »Environmental Health and Safety
  4. »Committees

Environmental Health and Safety

Environmental Health & Safety Committee

All University personnel are responsible for maintaining a safe workplace.  A strong, active Environmental Health & Safety (EHS) Committee is instrumental in promoting a culture of safety. EHS committee members can identify hazardous conditions or unsafe practices and help resolve these or discuss them with leadership. University policy (PPM Chapter 3740) requires that colleges/departments maintain an EHS Committee.

Committee members may obtain information and assistance by contacting the K-State Department of Environmental Health and Safety, 108 Edwards Hall 1810 Kerr Drive, 785-532-5856. The Department of Environmental Health & Safety provides consultation and oversight of safety and compliance for the institution.

In addition, K-State has a Campus Environmental Health and Safety Committee at the university level (presidential committee 8050) that serves as an umbrella committee to other safety committees to coordinate safety-related activities on K-State campuses and to support and promote university-wide safety and health. The Campus EHS Committee members are appointed by the Vice President and Chief Operations Officer, Faculty Senate, and Student Senate. The core responsibilities of the Campus EHS Committee are: 1) acting as the oversight committee for the administrative units (Provost, VP and Chief Operations Officer, and VP for Institutional Advancement), 2) evaluating College EHS Committee efforts, and 3) developing university-wide policies for Environmental Health & Safety.   The College EHS Committee reports through the Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.

Agendas

Meeting Dates/Times

All meetings will be held at 10 A.M by ZOOM.

  • December 16, 2020
  • January 27, 2021
  • February 24, 2021
  • March 24, 2021(Cancelled)
  • April 28, 2021
  • May 26, 2021
  • June 23, 2021
  • July 28, 2021
  • August 25, 2021
  • September 22, 2021
  • October 27, 2021
  • November 10, 2021
  • December 8, 2021

Committee Members

NameE-MailPhoneDepartmentAppointed ByTerm Ends
Christina Aguileracmaguilera@ksu.edu532-4297Environmental Health & SafetyVPAFEx Officio
Chieko Azumachieko@ksu.edu532-5690Clinical SciencesFaculty SenateAY 21-22
Will Baldwinwbaldwin@bri.ksu.edu532-1333BRIFaculty SenateFY 22-23
Cathie Barrycabby@ksu.edu532-6544Lafene Student Health CenterVP for Student LifeAY 20-21
Shannon Casebeerscasebeer@ksu.edu532-3573Arch. Engr. and Const. Sci.Faculty SenateAY 20-21
Grant Chapmangrantchapman@ksu.edu532-5498Associate Provost for International ProgramsProvost 
Erin Colaciccoerincola@ksu.eduSGAStudent SeanateAY 20-21
Cheryl Doerrcdoerr@ksu.edu532-3224University Research ComplianceVP for ResearchAY 21-22
Julie Johnsonjajohns@ksu.edu532-1333BRIBRIEx Officio
Monica Macfarlanemcmacfar@ksu.edu532-4052Grain Science & IndustryUSS SenateAY 20-21
Greg Petersongjpeters@k-state.edu532-3224University Research ComplianceVP for Research (Alternate) 
Rob Revesrreves@ksu.edu532-5690Veterinary Health CenterUSS SenateAY 21-22
Heath Ritterhlr@ksu.edu532-3224University Research ComplianceN/A 
Adrian Self (interim Chair)amself@ksu.edu532-6193National Ag Biosecurity Research CenterFaculty SenateAY 20-21
Lisa Shubertlisash@ksu.edu532-1154Architecture, Planning and Design Ex Officio
Erin Smithewsmith@ksu.edu532-1333BRIBRI (Alternate)Ex Officio 
Adam Ukenaabu66535@ksu.edu532-1719Environmental Health & Safety Ex Officio
Elliot Youngecyoung@ksu.edu532-6233University Risk & ComplianceEx Officio

Presenting an Issue

If you would like to suggest an issue to the Campus EHS Committee or have a concern, please send an e-mail to safety@ksu.edu with the phrase "EHS Committee" in the subject line and it will be forwarded to the committee.