1. K-State home
  2. »University Operations
  3. »Environmental Health and Safety
  4. »Committees

Environmental Health and Safety

Environmental Health & Safety Committee

All University personnel are responsible for maintaining a safe workplace.  A strong, active Environmental Health & Safety (EHS) Committee is instrumental in promoting a culture of safety. EHS committee members can identify hazardous conditions or unsafe practices and help resolve these or discuss them with leadership. University policy (PPM Chapter 3740) requires that colleges/departments maintain an EHS Committee.

Committee members may obtain information and assistance by contacting the K-State Department of Environmental Health and Safety, 135 Dykstra Hall,1628 Claflin Rd., Manhattan, KS 66506, 785-532-5856. The Department of Environmental Health & Safety provides consultation and oversight of safety and compliance for the institution.

In addition, K-State has a Campus Environmental Health and Safety Committee at the university level (presidential committee 8050) that serves as an umbrella committee to other safety committees to coordinate safety-related activities on K-State campuses and to support and promote university-wide safety and health. The Campus EHS Committee members are appointed by the Vice President and Chief Operations Officer, Faculty Senate, and Student Senate. The core responsibilities of the Campus EHS Committee are: 1) acting as the oversight committee for the administrative units (Provost, VP and Chief Operations Officer, and VP for Institutional Advancement), 2) evaluating College EHS Committee efforts, and 3) developing university-wide policies for Environmental Health & Safety.   The College EHS Committee reports through the Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.


Meeting Dates/Times

All meetings will be held at 10 A.M by ZOOM.

  • January 25, 2023
  • February 22, 2023
  • March 22, 2023
  • April 26, 2023
  • May 24, 2023
  • June 28, 2023
  • July 26, 2023
  • August 23, 2023
  • September 27, 2023
  • October 25, 2023
  • December 6, 2023

Committee Members

NameE-MailPhoneDepartmentAppointed ByTerm Ends
Chieko Azumachieko@ksu.edu532-5690Clinical SciencesFaculty SenateAY 21-22
Will Baldwinwbaldwin@bri.ksu.edu532-1333BRIFaculty SenateFY 22-23
Grant Chapmangrantchapman@ksu.edu532-5498Associate Provost for International ProgramsProvostAY 22-23
Erin Colaciccoerincola@ksu.eduSGAStudent SenateAY 21-22
Charles Fehrenbachmacf@ksu.edu PhysicsFaculty SenateAY 23-24
Savannah Greinersavannahg@ksu.edu532-1333National Ag Biosecurity CenterEx Officio
Kathleen Hatchkehatch@ksu.edu532-6237Assoc VP/Stu Well-beingVP for Student LifeAY 23-24
Julie Johnsonjajohns@ksu.edu532-1333BRIBRIEx Officio
Greg Petersongjpeters@k-state.edu532-3224University Research ComplianceVP for Research (Alternate) 
Rob Revesrreves@ksu.edu532-5690Veterinary Health CenterUSS SenateAY 21-22
Heath Ritterhlr@ksu.edu532-3224University Research ComplianceN/AEx Officio
Adrian Self (Chair)amself@ksu.edu532-6193National Ag Biosecurity Research CenterFaculty SenateAY 23-24
Lisa Shubertlisash@ksu.edu532-1154Architecture, Planning and Design Ex Officio
Erin Smithewsmith@ksu.edu532-1333BRIBRI (Alternate)Ex Officio 
Adam Ukenaabu66535@ksu.edu532-1719Environmental Health & Safety Ex Officio
Joe Whitlockjwhitlo@ksu.edu532-4297Environmental Health & Safety Ex Officio
Elliot Youngecyoung@ksu.edu532-6233University Risk & ComplianceEx Officio

Presenting an Issue

If you would like to suggest an issue to the Campus EHS Committee or have a concern, please send an e-mail to safety@ksu.edu with the phrase "EHS Committee" in the subject line and it will be forwarded to the committee.