1. K-State home
  2. »Arts and Sciences
  3. »Music, Theatre and Dance
  4. »Faculty and Staff

School of Music, Theatre, and Dance

School of Music, Theatre, and Dance
Kansas State University
109 McCain Auditorium
1501 Goldstein Cir.
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-5740
mtdksu@k-state.edu

Faculty and Staff

Our world-class faculty members have attended some of the nation and world's most prestigious and competitive programs. This background, combined with a wealth of professional experience and depth of knowledge, is reflected through the quality of our applied, academic and ensemble offerings.

Although they take great pride in teaching, our faculty are still passionate about performing, as well as participating in a variety of academic and creative activities on campus and at prestigious venues throughout the world. Together, we are dedicated to service, taking pride in bettering the university, our community, as well as national and international professional organizations.

NameContactProgramArea
Joelle Arp-Dunham
Instructor
joellead@k-state.eduTheatreActing, Directing
Amanda Arrington
Collaborative Piano
aarring@k-state.eduMusicKeyboard
SallyBailey
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies in Theatre, Director of the Drama Therapy Program
sdbailey@k-state.eduTheatreDrama Therapy
Dinh Phan
Fiscal and Personnel Officer

dinhphan@ksu.edu

AdministrationStaff
Melissa Briggs
Assistant Professor

mbriggs@k-state.edu

TheatreDrama Therapy
Fred Burrack
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies in Music, Director of the K-State Office of Assessment
fburrack@k-state.eduMusicMusic Education
Alfred Cochran
Professor
cochalw@k-state.eduMusicMusic Theory, History, and Composition
Jerry Jay Cranford
Associate Professor
jjcranford@k-state.eduTheatreActing, Directing
James Davis
Assistant Professor, Lighting and Sound Design
kdavis01@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Jesus De Hoyos, Jr.
Instructor, Voice
jdehoyos@k-state.edu MusicVoice
Kate Digby
Associate Professor, Associate Director for Dance
kdigby@k-state.eduDance/AdministrationDance
Rachel Dirks
Assistant Professor, Cello, Director of Orchestral Studies
rdirks@k-state.eduMusicStrings and Orchestra
Slawomir Dobrzanski
Professor, Piano

slawomir@k-state.edu

MusicKeyboard
Neil Dunn
Instructor, Percussion

neildunn@k-state.edu 

Dance/MusicDance/Wind and Percussion
Cindy Friedrich
Administrative Assistant
cindyle@k-state.edu
AdministrationStaff
Kurt Gartner
Professor, Percussion
Associate Director for Music
kgartner@k-state.edu
Music/AdministrationWind and Percussion
Wayne Goins
University Distinguished Professor, Guitar
Director of Jazz Studies
weg@k-state.edu
MusicJazz
Courtney Grecu
Administrative Assistant
cljensen@k-state.edu
MusicBands
Amy Guffey
Instructor, Clarinet
aguffey@ksu.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Ruth Gurgel
Associate Professor
gurgel@k-state.edu
MusicMusic Education
Jacqueline Fassler-Kerstetter
Associate Professor, Horn
jkerstet@k-state.edu
MusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition
Dan Hinman
Instructor, Trombone
djhinman@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition
Madeleine Jansen
Instructor, Violin and Viola
mjansen@k-state.eduMusicStrings and Orchestra
John Kilgore
Instructor, Trumpet
jrkilgor@k-state.eduMusicTrumpet
Chuck Leonard
Instructor, Theatre
chuckl@ksu.eduTheatreActing, Script Analysis, and Intro to Theatre 
Stephen Loch
Instructor
loch@k-state.eduDanceDance
David Mackay
Associate Professor, Associate Director for Theatre
dbmackay@k-state.eduTheatre/AdministrationActing, Directing
George Wame Matthews
Scene Shop Supervisor
georgewm@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Steven Maxwell
Professor, Tuba/Euphonium, Chair of Wind and Percussion Division
smaxwell@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition
Susan Maxwell
Instructor, Bassoon
suemax@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition;
Alyssa Morris
Assistant Professor, Oboe
alyssamorris@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion/Music Theory, History, and Composition
Melissa Neville
Costume Shop Manager
costume@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Joshua Oppenheim
Professor, Co-Director of Choral Activities
joshuao@k-state.eduMusicChoral
Craig Parker
Associate Professor
cbp@k-state.eduMusicMusic Theory, History, and Composition
Phillip Payne
Professor, Chair of Music Education
ppayne@k-state.eduMusicMusic Education
Julie L. Pentz
Professor
jpentz@k-state.eduDanceDance
David Pickering
Professor, Organ
Chair of Keyboard Division
dpickeri@k-state.eduMusicKeyboard/Music Theory, History, and Composition

Bryan Pinkall
Director of the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance 
Associate Professor
, Voice

pinkall@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Dana Pinkston
Associate Professor, Costume Design
dmpink@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Reginal Pittman
Professor, Opera, Chair of Voice Division
pittman@k-state.edu MusicVoice
Cheryl Richt
Instructor, Voice
clricht@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Amy Rosine
Associate Professor, Voice
arosine@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Shannon Blake Skelton
Associate Professor
sbskelton@k-state.eduTheatreTheatre History and Criticism
Ben Stark
Professor, Production Manager and Technical Director
benstark@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Patricia Thompson
Associate Professor, Voice
patthomp@k-state.eduMusicVoice
Frank Tracz
Professor
Director of Bands
ftracz@k-state.eduMusicBands
Kathy Voecks
Associate Professor, Scenic Design
Head of Design
kvoecks@k-state.eduTheatreDesign, Tech, and Management
Craig Weston
Professor, Composition, Chair of Theory, History, and Composition
cweston@k-state.eduMusicMusic Theory, History, and Composition
Colleen White
Assistant Professor, Flute
colleenwhite@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Alexander Wimmer
Instructor, Assistant Director of Bands
amwimmer@k-state.eduMusicBands
David Wood
Instructor, Director of Early Music Ensembles
davidwood@k-state.eduMusicChoral/Music Theory, History and Composition
Sharyn Worcester
Academic Advisor
ses8555@ksu.eduAdministrationStaff
Anna Marie Wytko
Professor, Saxophone
wytko@k-state.eduMusicWind and Percussion
Julie Yu-Oppenheim
Professor, Co-Director of Choral Studies
julieyu@k-state.eduMusicChoral

Emeritus Faculty

Cora Cooper
corac@k-state.edu

Jennifer Edwards
jre@k-state.edu

Robert L. Edwards
rle@k-state.edu

Jana Fallin
jfallin@k-state.edu

Norman Fedder
fedder@k-state.edu

Jack Flouer
flouer@k-state.edu

Virginia Houser
vhouser@k-state.edu

Paul Hunt
phunt@k-state.edu

David Littrell
dlitmus@k-state.edu

Charlotte MacFarland
charmac@k-state.edu

Gary Mortenson
Gary_Mortenson@baylor.edu

Marci Maullar
marcima@k-state.edu

David Ollington
dollingt@k-state.edu

Gerald S. Polich
polich@k-state.edu

Lew Shelton
shelton@k-state.edu

Mary Ellen Sutton
sutton@k-state.edu

John Uthoff
jsutd@k-state.edu

William Wingfield
wwingf@k-state.edu