1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Nominations open for Iman Outstanding Faculty Awards

K-State Today

April 5, 2016

Nominations open for Iman Outstanding Faculty Awards

Submitted by By Michelle Elkins

Iman Awards logo

The K-State Alumni Association seeks nominations for the 10th annual Dr. Ron and Rae Iman Outstanding Faculty Awards. The two $5,000 awards honor K-State faculty for outstanding teaching and research. These awards are made possible with funding from Ron and Rae Iman, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Nominations for the 2016-2017 awards will be accepted through 5 p.m. Friday, July 1. Additional details, including official nomination forms, can be found online. Both awards will be presented during a reception at the K-State Alumni Center on Monday, Sept. 26.

Ron Iman earned three degrees from K-State — a bachelor's degree in math education in 1962, a master's degree in 1970 and a doctorate in 1973, both in statistics — and continues to be actively engaged with the university. He has served on the K-State Alumni Association board of directors, was the alumni representative to the Kansas State University Research Foundation board, was a past member of the College of Arts & Sciences Advisory Council and is a Kansas State University Foundation trustee. He also was recognized with the College of Arts & Sciences Distinguished Service Award in 1996. The Imans are life members of the K-State Alumni Association.

Past recipients are:

Year                          Research                              Teaching

2015-2016                John Blair                         Donald Saucier

2014-2015                Jürgen A. Richt                 Swinder Janda

2013-2014                Zhijian Pei                        Kenneth Harkin

2012-2013                T.G. Nagaraja                  Andrew Barkley               

2011-2012                Michael R. Kanost            Christopher M. Sorensen

2010-2011                Mary Beth Kirkham          Michael L. Wesch

2009-2010                Daniel Marcus                   Derek Mosier

2008-2009                Kenneth J. Klabunde       Douglas K. Benson

2007-2008                Gary W. Conrad               Medhat M. Morcos

For questions, contact Michelle Elkins, associate director of awards and special events for the K-State Alumni Association, at 785-532-5077 or melkins@k-state.com.

In this issue

News and research
Shared governance
Kudos, publications and presentations
Newsletters, magazines and blogs