1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Kansas State University promotes 70 faculty members, 25 receive tenure

K-State Today

March 6, 2024

Kansas State University promotes 70 faculty members, 25 receive tenure

Submitted by Tanya González

Seventy Kansas State University faculty members are receiving promotions in rank, with 25 faculty members earning tenure.

"These faculty represent Kansas State University's tradition of excellence in research, teaching and service to the university and beyond," said Debbie Mercer, interim provost and executive vice president. "We are proud of these newly tenured and promoted faculty. I congratulate them and look forward to their continued success." 

The promotions include 39 faculty members to the rank of full professor, 25 faculty members to the rank of associate professor with tenure, and six additional faculty promotions.

Earning promotion to full professor are Terry Griffin, agricultural economics; Aleksan Shanoyan, agricultural economics; Nelson Villoria, agricultural economics; Eric Adee, agronomy; Doohong Min, agronomy; Joann Kouba, animal sciences and industry; Gaea Hock, communications and agricultural education; Sanzhen Liu, plant pathology; Genevieve Baudoin, architecture; Chad Schwartz, architecture; Jon Hunt, landscape architecture and regional & community planning; LaBarbara Wigfall, landscape architecture and regional & community planning; Douglas Dow, art; Mervi Pakaste, art; Erin Wiersma, art; Timothy Durrett, biochemistry and molecular biophysics; Alice Boyle, biology; Andrew Orr, history; Bacim Alali, mathematics; Hrant Hakobyan, mathematics; Majid Jaberi-Douraki, mathematics; Gabriel Kerr, mathematics; Daniel Rolles, physics; Edward Nowlin, marketing; Lotta Larson, curriculum and instruction; Susan Yelich Biniecki, educational leadership; Haijun Kang, educational leadership; Lisa Rubin, special education, counseling and student affairs; Jonathan Aguilar, biological and agricultural engineering; Melanie Derby, mechanical and nuclear engineering; Mingjun Wei, mechanical and nuclear engineering; Amber Vennum, applied human sciences; Peying Fong, anatomy and physiology; Jessica Meekins, clinical sciences; Gregg Hanzlicek, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Brandon Plattner, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Roman Pogranichniy, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Jamie Retallick, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; and Cliff Hight, special collections, K-State libraries. 

Earning promotion to associate professor with tenure are Tania Kim, entomology; Shahideh Nouri, plant pathology; Jessica Rupp, plant pathology; Grant Alford, architecture; Susmita Rishi, landscape architecture and regional & community planning; Andrew Hope, biology; Tuan "Sonny" Lee, biology; Katherine Nelson, geography and geospatial sciences; Suzanne Orr, history; Matt Wisniewski, psychological sciences; Trevor Durbin, sociology, anthropology, and social work; Hansin Bilgili, management; Tsvetomira "Mira" Bilgili, management; Kyle Bradley, management; Thomas Kelemen, management; Trisha Gott, educational leadership; Alex Red Corn, educational leadership; Vaishali Sharda, biological and agricultural engineering; Chuancheng Duan, chemical engineering; Jeongdae Im, civil engineering; Suprem Das, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering; Nicky Cassel, clinical sciences; Maria Jugan, clinical sciences; Brian Lubbers, clinical sciences; and David Upchurch, clinical sciences. 

Krishna Ghimire, civil engineering, and Brandie Disberger, communications and agricultural education, earned promotion to teaching associate professor. 

Randall Nichols, integrated studies, earned promotion to senior professor of practice.

Marjory Artzer, clinical sciences, and Adryanna Drake, clinical sciences, earned promotion to clinical associate professor; and McArthur Hafen, clinical sciences, earned promotion to clinical professor.