1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Phi Beta Kappa to induct 36 students

K-State Today

April 27, 2021

Phi Beta Kappa to induct 36 students

Submitted by Malorie Sougey

The K-State chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Beta of Kansas, will honor the 2021 initiates in a virtual ceremony tonight, Tuesday, April 27. The event will be open to the 36 initiates, their guests and chapter members only.

Students elected to Phi Beta Kappa have shown themselves devoted to intellectual pursuits and to the objectives of a liberal education — not merely knowledge but also breadth of interest, depth of understanding and respect for a diversity of informed opinion.

New members include Lauren Ailslieger, Mary Bajich, Ariana Brancato, Jaden Castinado, Cadence Ciesielski, Lauren Couchman, Kayla Craigmile, Drew Elizabeth Davis, Emily Featherston, Sabina Godinez, Elizabeth Hansen, Sophie Hawks, Makenzie Heffernon, Jacob Hill, Brenna Hogan, Elizabeth Irvine, Trey Kuhlmann, Natalie Leonard, Mayme Loyd, Kendra Marstall, Emory Mathes, Liam Mcconnell, Reed Middleton, Riley Morgan, Patrick Mugisha, Chase Norton, Mercedes Payton, Kristen Schau, Alexa Scheer, Kinsley Searles, Theresia Sharpe, Sarah Spond, Natalie Vesta, Cassandra Wefald, Tillie Wheeler and Charles Worley.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society and has more than 500,000 members. Since its founding at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia, in 1776, the society has fostered and recognized excellence in the liberal arts and sciences, and its gold key is widely recognized as a symbol of academic distinction. Only 10% of American universities have a Phi Beta Kappa chapter, and fewer than 10% of juniors and seniors are nominated annually. Notable members include 17 presidents, 40 Supreme Court justices and more than 140 Nobel laureates. The Beta of Kansas — K-State — chapter has existed since 1974.