1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Students, faculty win Gamma Sigma Delta honors

K-State Today

April 30, 2019

Students, faculty win Gamma Sigma Delta honors

Submitted by Cassandra Jones

The Kansas State University Eta Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the Honor Society of Agriculture, hosted its Undergraduate Research Showcase and Spring Recognition Reception on April 26.

Three undergraduate students were recognized for having the top research posters:

  • Elizabeth Donaldson, sophomore in animal sciences and industry, Berryton, presented her project with Michael Chao, assistant professor, "Modifications of membrane phospholipids in response to extended aging in pork loins."
  • Karen Schneck, fall 2018 graduate in horticulture, Lawrence, presented her project with Kimberly Williams, professor, "Updating poinsettia graphical tracking curves for greenhouse growers."
  • Analicia Swanson, senior in animal sciences and industry, Elmore, Minnesota, presented her project with the K-State Applied Swine Nutrition Team, "Increasing duration of feeding high dietary lysine and energy before farrowing on colostrum quality and yield in mixed parity sows." 

Four students won awards for their teaching or research activities:

  • Dakota Came, junior in agriculture economics, Salina, was awarded the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Research Award.
  • Ben Hamill, master's student in agronomy, Newton, with Colby Moorberg, was awarded the Outstanding M.S. Graduate Student Teaching Award.
  • Elliott Carver, doctoral student in agronomy, Manhattan, with Nathan Nelson, was awarded the Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate Student Teaching Award.
  • Santiago Tamagno, doctoral student in agronomy, Argentina, with Ignacio Ciampitti, was awarded the Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate Student Research Award. 

Four faculty received recognition for professional excellence:

  • Ajay Sharda, assistant professor of biological and agricultural engineering, received the Early Career Award.
  • Chad Miller, associate professor of horticulture and natural resources, received the Outstanding Advising Award.
  • Nathan Nelson, professor of agronomy, received the Outstanding Teaching Award.
  • Mithila Jugulam, associate professor of agronomy, received the Outstanding Research Award.

Finally, 135 students in the colleges of Agriculture or Veterinary Medicine; or departments of biological and agricultural engineering; biochemistry and molecular biophysics; food, nutrition, dietetics and health; and hospitality management were awarded Junior Honor Awards for outstanding academic excellence.