1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »K-State cohosts joint U.S. and India nuclear reactor safety symposium

K-State Today

January 7, 2019

K-State cohosts joint U.S. and India nuclear reactor safety symposium

Submitted by Mary Rankin

Hitesh Bindra, associate professor of mechanical and nuclear engineering

Kansas State University and the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, served as lead organizers for the recent Symposium on Advanced Sensors and Modeling Techniques for Nuclear Reactor Safety, held Dec. 15-19, 2018, in Bombay, India.

Primary funding for the event, jointly awarded to Hitesh Bindra, associate professor and Steve Hsu Keystone Research Scholar in the mechanical and nuclear engineering department at K-State, and Suneet Singh, associate professor, Indian Institute of Technology, was provided by Indo-U.S. Science and Technology Forum. Additional funding was provided by the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, Government of India.

Various aspects of thermal hydraulics, reactor physics, and radiation detection and sensors were discussed in the context of nuclear reactor safety. A special session was organized for fostering collaborations among Indian and U.S. institutions in the area of nuclear power.

Three other K-State mechanical and nuclear engineering faculty members also took part in the symposium with William Dunn, professor, department head and Theede Chair in Engineering, serving as honorary chair of the event; and Bindra and Jeremy Roberts, assistant professor and Steve Hsu Keystone Research Scholar, serving on the organizing committee. Douglas McGregor, university distinguished professor and Brainard Departmental Faculty Chair, delivered the keynote address. Bindra, Dunn and Roberts also gave invited talks.

In addition, three student participants from the department. Molly Ross, Priyarshini Ghosh and Richard Reed, presented in the student poster session at the event.

Other participants from the U.S. included the University of Illinois, Texas A&M University, City University of New York, Oak Ridge National Lab and Idaho National Lab.