1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »2018 Coffman Leadership Institute hosted at K-State

K-State Today

August 21, 2018

2018 Coffman Leadership Institute hosted at K-State

Submitted by Staley School of Leadership Studies and Human Capital Services

The Staley School of Leadership Studies and Human Capital Services collaborated to host the 2018 James R. Coffman Leadership Institute on Aug. 8-10.

The Coffman Leadership Institute is organized with the idea of "Empowered Individuals, Enhanced Institutions." This two-and-a-half-day institute was planned to offer faculty and unclassified staff a unique opportunity to refresh and enhance their leadership skills and knowledge. The institute serves as a launching point for continuous leadership development, professional networking, and empowerment of Kansas State University professionals.

The Coffman Leadership Institute works toward the objectives of providing the opportunity for participants to refresh and develop their leadership skills in a safe yet challenging learning environment, providing a space for networking and interdisciplinary cooperation for faculty and staff, and infusing Kansas State University with more empowered faculty and staff leaders. Campus directors, department heads, and unit leaders nominated their own faculty and staff to be a part of this program. 


The 2018 James R. Coffman Leadership Institute participants were:

Adam Ahlers, horticulture and natural resources

Charles Appelseth, Information Technology Assistance Center

Amy Betz, mechanical and nuclear engineering

Kimberly Bird, Division of Communications and Marketing

Amy Brusk, College of Veterinary Medicine

Jana Clark, internal auditing

Tara Coleman, Hale Library

Greg Dressman, Enterprise Server Technologies

Anna Eaves, international programs

Pamela Erickson, Global Campus

Anita Fahrny, PreAward Services

Justin Frederick, Office of Student Life

Lyndse Greenwood, College of Veterinary Medicine

Jichul Jang, hospitality management

William Johnson, Human Capital Services

Myung Kyo Kim, College of Business Administration

Stacey Kulesza, civil engineering

Emily Loeb, K-State Olathe

Jo Maseberg-Tomlinson, Global Campus

Bradli Millington, K-State Police Department 

Laurel Moody, Office of Student Life

Livia Olsen, Hale Library

Tiffany Oppelt, Housing and Dining Services

Jahvelle Rhone, Information Technology Assistance Center

Jen Schlegel, plant pathology

Martin Seay, family studies and human services

Michi Tobler, biology

Amanda Tross, Office of Mediated Education

Kellie Wilson, Human Capital Services

The nomination process for the 2019 James R. Coffman Leadership Institute will begin in February.