1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Honoring some of the best at K-State

K-State Today

May 3, 2018

Honoring some of the best at K-State

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

Kansas State University recognized several faculty and staff members for excellence at the All-University Awards Ceremony on May 2 at the K-State Alumni Center.

The honorees:

Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Award — Soumia Bardhan, assistant professor of communications studies; Blake Belanger, associate professor of landscape architecture and regional & community planning; Hitesh Bindra, assistant professor of mechanical and nuclear engineering; Jessica Canfield, associate professor of landscape architecture and regional & community planning; Pablo Martínez Diente, assistant professor of modern languages; Mervi Pakaste, associate professor of graphic design; David Pickering, associate professor of music; and Kathrin Schrick, associate professor of biology.

Coffman Chair for Distinguished Teaching Scholars — Keith Hohn, professor of chemical engineering.

Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award — Christine Aikens, professor of chemistry, and Frederick Burrack, professor of music education and director of the Office of Assessment.

Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Presidential Faculty and Staff Award for Distinguished Services to Historically Underrepresented Students — Larry Moeder, associate vice president for student life and executive director of admissions and student financial assistance.

Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Presidential Student Award for Distinguished Services in Enhancing Multiculturalism — Chelsea Turner, junior in American ethnic studies.

Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Outstanding Teaching Award — Bruce Babin, instructor of mechanical and nuclear engineering; Genevieve Baudoin, assistant professor of architecture; J.J. Brotton, instructor of marketing; and Daniel Kuester, director of undergraduate studies in economics.

K-State Excellence in Engagement Award — Richard Rosenkranz, associate professor of food, nutrition, dietetics and health; and the Chapman Center for Rural Studies, represented by Bonnie Lynn-Sherow, associate professor of history and center director, and MJ Morgan, instructor of history and center research director.

K-State Mentoring Fellowship — Suprem Das, assistant professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering; Sally Davis, assistant professor of experimental pathology; Behzad Ghanbarian, assistant professor of geology; Stephanie Shames, assistant professor of biology; and Maggie Syme, assistant professor of gerontology.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching — Heather Bailey, assistant professor of psychological sciences; Nathaniel Birkhead, assistant professor of political science; Mike Finnegan, assistant professor of leadership students; and Amanda Martens, doctoral student in psychology.

Presidential Award for Outstanding Department Head — Jeff Pickering, professor and head of the political science department.

Presidential Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising — Lisa Wilken, assistant professor of biological and agricultural engineering.

President's Award of Excellence for Unclassified Professionals — Sarah Barrett, Clery Act compliance coordinator, Office of Administration and Finance; Nathanael Bascom, assistant director of the Feed the Future Innovation Lab for Collaborative Research on Sorghum and Millet; Michelle Langvardt, executive assistant, Office of the Provost; Jo Maseberg-Tomlinson, academic and professional program coordinator, K-State Global Campus; and Rita Newell, budget fiscal officer II, College of Human Ecology dean's office.

Putting Students First Award for Outstanding Service to Students — Sarah Barr, attorney with Student Legal Services, Division of Student Life; and Ronaldo Maghirang, associate dean of research and graduate programs, director of the Engineering Experiment Station, and professor of biological and agricultural engineering, College of Engineering.

University Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentoring of Undergraduate Students in Research — William Hsu, professor of computer science.

University Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Student in Research — Maria Fernanda De LaTorre Romo, senior in computer science and mathematics.

University Outstanding Department or Unit Award for Enhancing Diversity — Kansas State Office for the Advancement of Women in Science and Engineering, represented by Chardie Baird, executive director.