1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Five architecture students earn honors at K-State's 18th annual Bowman Design Forum

K-State Today

December 15, 2016

Five architecture students earn honors at K-State's 18th annual Bowman Design Forum

Submitted by Thom Jackson

Outstanding design work by five third-year architecture students in K-State's College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, earned honors at the 18th annual Bowman Design Forum Dec. 7 on the Manhattan campus.

Sponsored by BBN Architects Inc. in Manhattan and hosted by APDesign, the forum brought acclaimed architects to campus to discuss work by students in the architecture department. The forum is an opportunity for students to present their work to architecture practitioners and educators for critiques.

One student from each of the department's five third-year studio sections was selected to present his or her design for "Fire and Flint — A Fire Station for the City of Wamego." Each student participant prepared a model, drawings and a PowerPoint presentation.

The following students were awarded a total of $4,500 in prizes. All are juniors in architecture:

Logan Medrano, Hope, $2,000 Honor Award; Benjamin Charpentier, Overland Park, $1,000 Special Merit; Niklas Carlson, Shawnee, $250 finalist; and James Reed Strawn, Derby, $250 finalist.

From out of state: Olivia Ashbrook, Kansas City, Missouri, $1,000 Special Merit.

This year's guest jurors were Paul Mankins, American Institute of Architects fellow, 2013 American Institute of Architects Iowa Medal of Honor recipient and founding partner of Substance architecture in Des Moines, Iowa; and Todd Gardner, principal at Substance architecture. Additional input was given by Brent Bowman and Patrick Schaub, both principals at Bowman Bowman Novick in Manhattan.

The winners' studio instructors include Aaron Schump, assistant professor of architecture for Olivia Ashbrook; Michael Gibson, assistant professor of architecture for James Reed Strawn; Wendy Ornelas, professor of architecture for Benjamin Charpentier; Gary Coates, professor of architecture for Logan Medrano and Todd Gabbard, professor of architecture for Niklas Carlson.