1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »2016 Faculty and Professional Staff Retiree Ceremony and Reception

K-State Today

April 14, 2016

2016 Faculty and Professional Staff Retiree Ceremony and Reception

Submitted by Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate invites you to attend the 2016 Faculty and Professional Staff Retiree Ceremony at 4 p.m. Tuesday, April 19, at the K-State Alumni Center. This is a time to recognize, honor and celebrate those faculty and professional staff who have contributed to the success of Kansas State University during their careers here.

The following individuals are on the program this year. Those who have an asterisk next to their name have indicated their plans to attend:


  • Lynette Hoffman, College of Agriculture dean's and director of AES office
  • Rhonda Janke, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources
  • *Gregory LeValley, communications and agricultural education
  • James Marsden, animal sciences and industry
  • *John Reese, entomology
  • Vernon Schaffer, agronomy
  • Peggy Shaw McBee, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources
  • Richard Umscheid, grain science and industry
  • John Unruh, animal sciences and industry
  • *Teresa Weixelman, agricultural economics
  • Charisse West, College of Agriculture dean's and director of AES office
  • *Nancy Zimmerli-Cates, communications and agricultural education 

Architecture, Planning & Design 

  • *Allan Hastings, interior architecture and product design
  • *G. Rebecca Stark, architecture 

Arts and Sciences 

  • Allen Archer, geology
  • Kevin Blake, geography
  • *Torry Dickinson, women's studies
  • Marvin Gould, art
  • Ramaswamy Krishnamoorthi, biochemistry and molecular biophysics
  • *Richard Marston, geography
  • Gary Mortenson, music, theatre, and dance
  • Leigh Murray, statistics
  • *Bonnie Nelson, English
  • *David Ollington, music, theatre, and dance
  • *Maria Paukstelis, chemistry
  • *Charles Reagan, philosophy
  • *Dean Zollman, physics


  • Melisa Hancock, curriculum and instruction
  • *Diane Hawk, curriculum and instruction
  • *Michael Holen, College of Education dean's office
  • *JohnElla Holmes, special education, counseling, and student affairs
  • *Virginia Mixer, College of Education dean's office
  • *Rosemary Talab, curriculum and instruction
  • *Dan Yunk, educational leadership 


  • *Philip Barnes, biological and agricultural engineering
  • *Roderic Elder, architectural engineering and construction science
  • Susan Gerth, civil engineering
  • Larry Glasgow, chemical engineering
  • *Thomas Logan, architectural engineering and construction science
  • *J. Garth Thompson, mechanical and nuclear engineering 

General Administration 

  • *R. Douglas Ackley, Division of Financial Services
  • Myles Alexander, Center for Engagement and Community Development
  • *Lynda Bachelor, Staley School of Leadership Studies
  • Mark Brown-Barnett, Lafene Student Health Center
  • *Donna Davis, international programs
  • Abdullah Fattaey, campus planning and facilities management
  • Myra Gordon, Office of Diversity
  • Jerry Jaax, university research compliance
  • Roger Johnson, athletics
  • Judith Lynch, educational and personal development
  • Michael Lynch, educational and personal development
  • Edward Rice, facilities building maintenance
  • Gloria Robertson, Information Technology Assistance Center
  • Kenneth Stafford, information technology services
  • *Jack Thoman, K-State Student Union
  • *Kathryn Tilley, Research and Sponsored Programs
  • *William Wisdom, K-State Student Union
  • *John Woods, facilities custodial services
  • *Kathryn Zarka, educational and personal development

 Human Ecology 

  • *Katharine Grunewald, food, nutrition, dietetics and health
  • *Debby Hiett, College of Human Ecology Dean's office
  • *Jane Marshall, College of Human Ecology dean's office
  • Mary Meck Higgins, food, nutrition, dietetics and health
  • *Susan Meier, family studies and human services
  • Kimmi Misenhelter, family studies and human services
  • Phyllis Jeannie Sneed, hospitality management 

K-State Libraries 

  • Janice Barrons, content development and acquisitions
  • *Martin Courtois, Center for the Advancement of Digital Scholarship
  • *Lisa Loberg, library user services
  • Elizabeth Turtle, Center for the Advancement of Digital Scholarship
  • Daryl Youngman, academic services 


  • Joan Leavens, program coordinator, Urban Water Institute

Research and Extension 

  • *Robert Bauernfeind, entomology
  • *Elizabeth Curry, Northwest area
  • *Martha Flanagan, Cherokee County
  • Diann Gerstner, Thomas County
  • *Susan Jackson, Harvey County
  • Janice McMahon, Sedgwick County
  • Jim Mengarelli, Wildcat Extension District
  • Linda Mirt, Sumner County
  • *James Pat Murphy, agriculture and natural resources 

Technology and Aviation, K-State Polytechnic  

  • *Leslie Kinsler, engineering technology
  • David Norlin, arts, science and business
  • Dixie Schierlman, student services 

Veterinary Medicine 

  • Bradley DeBey, Veterinary Diagnostic Lab
  • Roger Fingland, Veterinary Health Center
  • Richard Oberst , Veterinary Diagnostic Lab
  • *Donna Springer, College of Veterinary Medicine dean's office
  • *Steven Stockham, Veterinary Diagnostic Lab

In this issue

From the vice president for research
News and research
Kudos, publications and presentations
Newsletters, magazines and blogs