1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Campus cultural connection: Union Program Council's Executive Board gains new members

K-State Today

May 1, 2014

Campus cultural connection: Union Program Council's Executive Board gains new members

Submitted by Maggie Stephens

UPC logo

The newly selected members of Kansas State University's Union Program Council's 2014-2015 Executive Board for the K-State Student Union have the opportunity to leave their mark on campus. These student leaders will plan more than 150 events for the next school year.

The Union Program Council is responsible for organizing events in the Union and around campus. Funded by student privilege fees, the council provides social, cultural, educational and recreational activities.

The Executive Board leads committees made up of student volunteers who help plan a variety of events that entertain and enlighten the campus. For the board selection process, candidates underwent an application and interview process.

Members of 2014-2015 Union Program Council Executive Board are: John Seitz, junior in life science, Arkansas City, Campus Entertainment Committee co-chair; Kaitlin Flores, freshman in pre-psychology, Cimarron, Multicultural Committee co-chair; Brianna Rodgers, sophomore in psychology, De Soto, Community Committee co-chair; Kaitlyn Rogers, junior in human resources management, Fredonia, vice president of membership; Russell Harp, junior in entrepreneurship, Garden City, Campus Entertainment Committee co-chair; and Arthur White, sophomore in marketing, Garnett, Music Committee co-chair.

From Greater Kansas City: Jonah Jacobsen, sophomore in accounting, Olathe, Forums Committee co-chair; Zachary Bailey, junior in entrepreneurship, Overland Park, Music Committee co-chair; Abigail Krstulic, sophomore in pre-journalism and mass communication, Overland Park, Arts Committee co-chair; Megan Varhola, junior in business administration, Overland Park, Campus Outreach Committee co-chair; and Jennifer Boutte, senior in mass communications, Shawnee, Campus Entertainment Committee co-chair.

Rachael Herter, freshman in arts and sciences-open option, Larned, After Hours Committee co-chair; Daniel Preston, junior in milling science management, Manhattan, president; and Jeremy Cline, junior in entrepreneurship, Mulvane, Films Committee co-chair.

From Wichita: Dakota Dawson, freshman in biochemistry, Community Committee co-chair; Mary Kruse, junior in accounting, vice president operations; Paige Lauer, freshman in business administration, After Hours Committee co-chair; Seth McDaniel, sophomore in business administration, Campus Outreach Committee co-chair; Lauren Sokolosky, sophomore in social work, Music Committee co-chair; and Hannah Vu, freshman in journalism and mass communications, After Hours Committee co-chair.

From out of state: Timothy Tse, junior in architecture, Santa Clara, California, Forums Committee co-chair; Philomena Sulzen, senior in psychology, Post Falls, Idaho, Arts Committee co-chair; Haley Wireman, sophomore in bakery science and management, West Des Moines, Iowa, After Hours Committee co-chair; Taneysha Howard, junior in agriculture communication and journalism, St. Louis, Missouri, Multicultural Committee co-chair; Alexis Turner, junior in marketing, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, vice president for promotions; and Kendall Stewart, sophomore in animal science, Houston, Texas, Films Committee co-chair.

For more information about the Union Program Council and its events, visit the website or call 785-532-6571.

In this issue

From the administration
News and research
Kudos, publications and presentations
Campus construction and maintenance
Volunteer opportunities