Faculty and Staff

Our world-class faculty members have attended some of the nation and world's most prestigious and competitive programs. This background, combined with a wealth of professional experience and depth of knowledge, is reflected through the quality of our applied, academic, and ensemble offerings.

Although they take great pride in teaching, our faculty are still passionate about performing, as well as participating in a variety of academic and creative activities on campus and at prestigious venues throughout the world. Together, we are dedicated to service, taking pride in bettering the university, our community, and national and international professional organizations.

Name & Area

Contact

 

Joelle Arp-Dunham
Instructor, Acting/Directing

joellead@ksu.edu

 

Amanda Arrington
Senior Professor of Practice, Collaborative Piano

aarring@ksu.edu

 

Sally Bailey
Professor, Drama Therapy

sdbailey@ksu.edu

Director of Graduate Studies in Theatre; Director of the Drama Therapy Program

Melissa Briggs
Assistant Professor, Drama Therapy

mbriggs@ksu.edu

 

Fred Burrack
Professor, Music Education

fburrack@ksu.edu

Director of Graduate Studies in Music, Director of the K-State Office of Assessment

Alfred Cochran
Professor, Music History

cochalw@ksu.edu

 

Jerry Jay Cranford
Associate Professor, Acting/Directing

jjcranford@ksu.edu

 

James Davis
Assistant Professor, Lighting & Sound Design

kdavis01@ksu.edu

 

Kate Digby
Associate Professor, Dance

kdigby@ksu.edu

Associate Director for Dance

Rachel Dirks
Assistant Professor, Cello

rdirks@ksu.edu

Director of Orchestral Studies

Slawomir Dobrzanski
Professor, Piano

slawomir@ksu.edu

 

Neil Dunn
Instructor, Dance & Percussion

neildunn@ksu.edu

 

Cindy Friedrich
Administrative Assistant

cindyle@ksu.edu

 

Kurt Gartner
Professor, Percussion

kgartner@ksu.edu

Associate Director for Music

Wayne Goins
University Distinguished Professor, Guitar

weg@ksu.edu

Director of Jazz Studies

Courtney Grecu
Administrative Assistant

cljensen@ksu.edu

 

Amy Guffey
Instructor, Clarinet

aguffey@ksu.edu

 

Ruth Gurgel
Associate Professor, Music Education

gurgel@ksu.edu

 

Jacqueline Fassler-Kerstetter
Associate Professor, Horn

jkerstet@ksu.edu

 

Dan Hinman
Instructor, Trombone

djhinman@ksu.edu

 

Jesus De Hoyos
Instructor, Voice

jdehoyos@ksu.edu

 

Madeleine Jansen
Instructor, Violin and Viola

mjansen@ksu.edu

 

John Kilgore
Teaching Assistant Professor, Trumpet

jrkilgor@ksu.edu

 

Chuck Leonard
Instructor, Theatre

chuckl@ksu.edu

 

Stephen Loch
Teaching Assistant Professor, Dance

loch@ksu.edu

 

David Mackay
Associate Professor, Acting/Directing

dbmackay@ksu.edu

Associate Director for Theatre

George Wame Matthews
Senior Professor of Practice, Scenery Construction

georgewm@ksu.edu

Scene Shop Supervisor

Steven Maxwell
Professor, Tuba/Euphonium

smaxwell@ksu.edu

Chair of Wind & Percussion

Susan Maxwell
Teaching Associate Professor, Bassoon

suemax@ksu.edu

 

Alyssa Morris
Assistant Professor, Oboe

alyssamorris@ksu.edu

 

Melissa Neville
Senior Professor of Practice, Costume Design

costume@ksu.edu

Costume Shop Manager

Joshua Oppenheim
Professor, Choir

joshuao@ksu.edu

Co-Director of Choral Studies

Craig Parker
Associate Professor, Music History

cbp@ksu.edu

 

Phillip Payne
Professor, Music Education

ppayne@ksu.edu

Chair of Music Education

Julie L. Pentz
Professor, Dance

jpentz@ksu.edu

 

Dinh Phan
Fiscal and Personnel Officer

dinhphan@ksu.edu

 

David Pickering
Professor, Organ

dpickeri@ksu.edu

Chair of Keyboard Division

Bryan Pinkall
Associate Professor, Voice

pinkall@ksu.edu

Director of the School of Music, Theatre, & Dance

Dana Pinkston
Associate Professor, Costume Design

dmpink@ksu.edu

 

Reginald Pittman
Professor, Opera

pittman@ksu.edu

Chair of Voice Division

Cheryl Richt
Instructor, Voice

clricht@ksu.edu

 

Amy Rosine
Associate Professor, Voice

arosine@ksu.edu

 

Shannon Blake Skelton
Associate Professor, Theatre History

sbskelton@ksu.edu

Advisor for Theatre

Ben Stark
Professor, Theatre Technical Design

benstark@ksu.edu

Associate Director, Production & Facilities

Patricia Thompson
Associate Professor, Voice

patthomp@ksu.edu

 

Frank Tracz
Professor, Band

ftracz@ksu.edu

Director of Bands

Kathy Voecks
Associate Professor, Scenic Design

kvoecks@ksu.edu

Head of Design

Craig Weston
Professor, Composition

cweston@ksu.edu

Chair of Theory, History, & Composition

Colleen White
Assistant Professor, Flute

colleenwhite@ksu.edu

 

Alexander Wimmer
Teaching Assistant Professor, Band

amwimmer@ksu.edu

Assistant Director of Bands

David Wood
Advanced Instructor, Early Music

davidwood@ksu.edu

Director of Early Music Ensembles

Sharyn Worcester
Academic Advisor

ses8555@ksu.edu

Academic Advisor

Anna Marie Wytko
Professor, Saxophone

wytko@ksu.edu

 

Julie Yu-Oppenheim
Professor, Choir

julieyu@ksu.edu

Co-Director of Choral Studies

Emeritus Faculty

Cora Cooper
corac@k-state.edu

Jennifer Edwards
jre@k-state.edu

Robert L. Edwards
rle@k-state.edu

Jana Fallin
jfallin@k-state.edu

Norman Fedder
fedder@k-state.edu

Jack Flouer
flouer@k-state.edu

Virginia Houser
vhouser@k-state.edu

Paul Hunt
phunt@k-state.edu

David Littrell
dlitmus@k-state.edu

Charlotte MacFarland
charmac@k-state.edu

Gary Mortenson
Gary_Mortenson@baylor.edu

Marci Maullar
marcima@k-state.edu

David Ollington
dollingt@k-state.edu

Gerald S. Polich
polich@k-state.edu

Lew Shelton
shelton@k-state.edu

Mary Ellen Sutton
sutton@k-state.edu

John Uthoff
jsutd@k-state.edu

William Wingfield
wwingf@k-state.edu