Awards and Recognition

Faculty at K-State who make significant contributions to teaching, research, and mentoring graduate students are recognized by the Graduate School with annual awards. Additional awards to recognize faculty are coordinated by colleges, departments, the Office of the Provost, and the Office of the President.

Commerce Bank and WT Kemper Foundation Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award

The Commerce Bank and WT Kemper Foundation Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award recognizes current graduate faculty members for their remarkable academic accomplishments and contributions to graduate education at the institution. Award winners recieve an honorarium, are acknowledged at the Graduate School commencement ceremony, and public lecture.

Distinguished Graduate Faculty nomination instructions

Graduate Faculty Mentor Award

The Graduate Faculty Mentor Award honors graduate faculty participation in student achievement. When faculty encourage students to participate in professional development activities like presenting their research and scholarship, they help them succeed now and beyond graduation. Recipients of this award are selected based on nominations from graduate students and on their students’ participation in annual research forum events.

Graduate Faculty Mentor Award information

Ervin W. Segebrecht Honorarium

Ervin W. and Margaret Segebrecht and their children founded the Segebrecht Award in 1985 to honor “those professors at Kansas State who provided inspiration and excellence in teaching” for 1938 KSU alumni Mr. Segebrecht. Only chemistry and chemical engineering professors may apply for the prize, which is based on "excellence in classroom instruction and research and published manuscripts in technical publications."

Segebrecht Honorarium nomination process