1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Industrial and manufacturing systems engineering students recognized for outstanding...

K-State Today

May 9, 2024

Industrial and manufacturing systems engineering students recognized for outstanding achievements

Submitted by Debra Harper

The industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, or IMSE, department had its annual banquet and awards celebration on April 25, hosted by the student chapter of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers. The department celebrates the success of the following students.

Universitywide awards:

  • Riley Byrd received the Raj and Diana Nathan Undergraduate Research Experience Award for her research proposal, "Collaboration to Advance Public Health Logistics."
  • Allison Kirby received an Extraordinary Student Award from the Student Support and Accountability Office.
  • Andrew Phipps was recognized as a Pat Bosco Leadership Studies Outstanding Graduating Senior.
  • Monica Tlaxcalteca-Romero received a Robinson Family Multicultural Leadership award.
  • Caleb Stelk received a Kirmser Undergraduate Research Award for his research project, "Optimization Models for Flash Flooding in Developing Countries."

IMSE students recognized as Knights of Engineering: Molly Blankenship, Tate Brungardt, Logan Maurer, Andrew Phipps and Brandon Thimmesch. 

IMSE departmental awards:

  • Outstanding IMSE Sophomores: Laura El-Koubysi, Dylan Potter and Cody Kottke.
  • Outstanding IMSE Juniors: Riley Byrd and Paige Dittrich.
  • IMSE Outstanding Academic Achievement: Austin Boyer and Audrey Werner.

The following graduating seniors were nominated to be named the department's most outstanding graduating senior: Austin Boyer, Tate Brungardt, Trent Dodge, Logan Maurer, Paige Miranda, Andrew Phipps, Monica Tlaxcalteca-Romero, Cody Stufflebean and Brandon Thimmesch.

IMSE Most Outstanding Graduating Senior: Andrew Phipps.

IISE Hardcharger Awards — for active involvement in IISE activities:

  • Alpha: Molly Blankenship.
  • Beta: Laura El-Koubysi.
  • Gamma: Charles Pershall.
  • Delta: Joey Hilton.

David Ben-Arieh Engineering Award for Exemplary Leadership and Work Ethic: Trevor Chavez.

Neier Family IMSE Outstanding Consulting Student Award: Riley Byrd.

Gisela and Warren Kennedy Industrial Engineering Scholarship: Daniel Dandreo.

Benjamin and Jennifer Tryon Industrial Engineering Scholarships: Trevor Chavez, Riley Byrd, Paige Dittrich, Kayleigh Bednar and Dylan Potter.

Larry and Eleanor Strecker Scholarship Award: Emma Shulda and Caleb Stelk.

IMSE Professional Academy Awards: Trevor Chavez, Paige Dittrich, Kayleigh Bednar, Charles Pershall, Braylee Doughman, and Bihter Ozhan Zaidi.

Huschka Engineering Scholarship: Brian Blood.

E. Stanley Lee and Yuan Lee Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Brian Blood.

Professor Jessica Heier Stamm was chosen as the most outstanding undergraduate teacher by this year's graduating seniors.

Congratulations to all IMSE scholarship award nominees and winners. Thank you to all the donors who make these awards possible.

In this issue

From the administration
Personnel changes
Kudos, publications and presentations
University life