1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Reminder: All-University Awards Ceremony today

K-State Today

May 9, 2024

Reminder: All-University Awards Ceremony today

Submitted by Office of the President and Provost

President Richard Linton and Interim Provost Debbie Mercer will be hosting the All-University Awards Ceremony and reception from 3:30-5 p.m. on Thursday, May 9, in the K-State Alumni Center Banquet Room.

The ceremony and reception are open to the entire university community, as well as the families of the awardees. Refreshments will be served.

Awardees to be recognized at the ceremony include:

Big 12 Faculty Fellowships:

  • Mary Cain, psychological sciences.
  • Jon Hunt, landscape architecture and regional & community planning.
  • Shakil Kashem, landscape architecture and regional & community planning.
  • Kim Klinger-Logan, mathematics.
  • Davood Pourkargar, chemical engineering.
  • Jason Scuilla, art.
  • Shannon Skelton, music, theatre, and dance.
  • Peter Stoepker, kinesiology.
  • Yue Teng Vaughan, hospitality management.

Coffman Chair for University Distinguished Teaching Scholars:

  • Aleksan Shanoyan, agricultural economics.

Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award:

  • Jeffrey Pickering, political science.
  • Yong-Cheng Shi, grain science and industry.

Commerce Bank and W.T. Kemper Foundation Undergraduate Outstanding Teaching Award:

  • Grant Alford, architecture.
  • Julia Keen, architectural engineering and construction science.
  • Ryan Rafferty, chemistry.
  • Brandon Savage, management.

Commerce Bank Presidential Faculty and Staff Award for Distinguished Services to Historically Underrepresented Students:

  • María Teresa DePaoli, modern languages.

Commerce Bank Presidential Student Award for Distinguished Services in Enhancing Multiculturalism:

  • Roselle Barretto, doctoral student in Carl R. Ice College of Engineering.

Graduate Faculty Mentor Awards:

  • Susmita Rishi, landscape architecture and regional & community planning.
  • Ajay Sharda, biological and agricultural engineering.

International Educator of the Year:

  • Mona Menking, Office of Global Outreach, College of Education.

International innovative Education Program of the Year Award:

  • Food and Farm Council of Riley County and city of Manhattan.

Kansas State University Excellence in Engagement Award:

  • College of Veterinary Medicine Community Outreach Team.

Outstanding Support for International Initiatives Award:

  • First-generation Student Center.

President's Award of Excellence for Unclassified Professionals:

  • Belonging.
    • Rebeca Paz, First-generation Student Center.
  • Distinguished Accomplishment.
    • Kristina Wyatt, K-State Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory.
  • Leadership.
    • Marcia Hornung, Center for Principled Business, College of Business Administration.
  • Productivity, Creativity, Innovation.
    • Mary Hellmer, K-State Research and Extension, Extension Administration.
  • Team Building, Group Activity, Service to the University.
    • Stacy Divine, Division of Information Technology.

Presidential Graduate Teaching Assistant Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching:

  • Endy Kailer, doctoral student and graduate teaching assistant, agronomy.

Presidential Faculty Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching:

  • Christian Larson, kinesiology.

Presidential Award for Outstanding Department Head:

  • Ray Buyle, architectural engineering and construction science.

University Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Student in Research:

  • Emily Tolbert, junior in microbiology.

University Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentoring of Undergraduate Students in Research:

  • Kaliramesh Siliveru, grain science and industry.

University Outstanding Department or Unit Award for Enhancing Diversity:

  • Education Abroad Office.

University Support Staff Award of Excellence:

  • Office and Clerical: Teresa Baughman, Graduate School.
  • Services and Maintenance/Skilled Crafts: Jacob Boggs, Division of Facilities.
  • Technical and Professional: Peter Nelson, physics.

In this issue

From the administration
Personnel changes
Kudos, publications and presentations
University life