1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Model United Nations team wins awards at American Model UN

K-State Today

December 4, 2019

Model United Nations team wins awards at American Model UN

Submitted by Braylee Jones

Model UN - 2019

K-State's Model United Nations team competed at the 30th American Model UN Conference in Chicago from Nov. 23-26. More than 1,200 students from 77 colleges and universities competed to win for their designated countries.

K-State's team chose to represent Equatorial Guinea and won a position paper award for completing policy position papers for every simulated situation at the conference. Two team members, Claire Chaffin, junior in political science and French minor; and Scout Molder, freshman in political science and pre-law, also won a delegation award for exceptional representation of Equatorial Guinea on the Economic Commission of Africa. This is the first time in almost seven years that K-State has won this award.

K-State's Model UN team members included Jennifer Acosta, Nathan Bothwell, Claire Chaffin, Ethan Chapman, Bayley Clark, Lily Colburn, Erick Echegaray, Ashley Fox, Natalie Jabben, Nicholas Kaechele, Nick McCreight, Scout Molder, Alexa Scheer, Bella Villegas and Mason Witzke.

Political science associate professors John Fliter and Carla Martinez-Machain served as co-faculty advisors for the team.