1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Update from University Support Staff Senate and Faculty Senate Professional Staff...

K-State Today

October 15, 2019

Update from University Support Staff Senate and Faculty Senate Professional Staff Affairs Committee

Submitted by Kelly Briggs

University Support Staff Senate articulates university support staff interests, concerns and recommendations on matters of policy, training and educational opportunities.

The Professional Staff Affairs Committee is a standing committee of Faculty Senate to communicate the specific needs, challenges and voices of unclassified professional staff.

Last spring, the Docking Institute administered a job satisfaction survey to all staff at most Regents institutions. The results of that report were presented to the Council of Presidents at the September 2019 KBOR meeting. They will be presented to the whole board at the December 2019 meeting.

The Docking Institute has compiled three reports. One includes the statewide findings. Another includes the statewide findings together with K-State specific results. The third presents K-State data broken out by unclassified professional staff and university support staff. These results are available on both the University Support Staff Senate and Professional Staff Affairs websites. 

Moving forward, the Professional Staff Affairs Committee and University Support Staff Senate leadership are collaborating with the Division of Communications and Marketing to conduct listening sessions around the results. Be on the lookout for more details. 

Finally, we invite all staff to reach out to their representatives and/or attend a meeting as needed. Representatives and meeting dates can be found on the websites listed above. 

Kelly Briggs, Professional Staff Affairs co-chair

Maria Beebe, Professional Staff Affairs co-chair

Cyreathia "Sam" Reyer, University Support Staff Senate president

Cynthia Slover, University Support Staff Senate president-elect

Becki Bohnenblust, University Support Staff Senate past president