1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Mirafzal awarded Louie T. Marshall Engineering Professorship

K-State Today

July 6, 2022

Mirafzal awarded Louie T. Marshall Engineering Professorship

Submitted by Grant Guggisberg

Behrooz Mirafzal

Behrooz Mirafzal, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been awarded the first Louie T. Marshall Engineering Professorship at K-State. The five-year appointment carries annual funding to be used in support of his designation as a highly regarded K-State educator and researcher in the Mike Wiegers Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Mirafzal, who is also a Michelle Munson-Serban Simu Keystone research scholar and George Yeh Keystone research scholar, earned his doctorate from Marquette University in 2005 and worked in private industry and as adjunct faculty at Marquette before moving to Florida International University in 2008. He joined K-State in 2011 and established the power electronics research laboratory.

His current research interests include applications of power electronics in energy conversion systems and grid-interactive converters. He is the author or a co-author of more than 120 articles in professional journals and conferences and holds four U.S. patents. He is also the author of a textbook titled "Power Electronics in Energy Conversion Systems," published by McGraw Hill in 2021. Mirafzal was the recipient of three IEEE transactions paper awards in 2008, 2012 and 2020, a 2014 NSF CAREER award, the 2019 Frankenhoff Outstanding Research Award and the 2021 Dean's Award of Excellence in Service from the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering at K-State.

Louie T. Marshall was a 1940 engineering graduate from K-State who died in 2003. This professorship was established to honor Marshall at the university and to recruit and retain the highest quality faculty for the electrical and computer engineering department.