1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Developing Scholars Program announces student award winners

K-State Today

May 13, 2022

Developing Scholars Program announces student award winners

Submitted by Office of Undergradute Research and Creative Inquiry

The Developing Scholars Program recently celebrated student awardees. Annually faculty, staff and peer-nominated awards are presented to students participating in the program. The following lists include the honored students.

The Promise Award is a faculty-nominated award given to students who show promise in the first year of research in their lab and who maintain a solid academic record.

  • Emily Tolbert; faculty mentor, Nicholas Wallace.

The Coffman Excellence in Research Award is a faculty-nominated award given for excellence in research, student engagement and accomplishments.

  • Charlotte Ochs; faculty mentor, Peter Sues.
  • Carlos Espino Mendez; faculty mentor, Melanie Derby.
  • Juliet Nava; faculty mentor, Robert Delong.

  Honorable mentions

  • Leslie Rodela; faculty mentor, Sonny Lee.
  • Abdulfeta Ahmed; faculty mentor, Jungkwun Kim.
  • Ana Herrera; faculty mentor, Gary Brase.
  • Estefani Fernandez; faculty mentor, Heather Bailey.

Pay it Forward is awarded to scholars whose passionate engagement with their projects and their generosity toward their fellow scholars suggest they will pay it forward one day.

  • Yuriana Arroyo-Bocanegra; faculty mentor, Ryan Hansen.

The Frank Cortez Memorial Award was developed to honor the father of Anita Cortez and goes to a scholar who shows strong intelligence and a passion for social justice.

  • Maria Izquierdo.

The Diligence Award recognizes a student who demonstrates commitment and growth during their time at K-State.

  • Carolina Reyes.
  • TJ Montes.
  • Adan Cernas.

The Above and Beyond Award recognizes scholars who have done well in their research and beyond.

  • Ruth Mekuria.

The Eyes on the Prize Award honors scholars who steadfastly kept their focus on their future.

  • India Barnett.
  • Jesus Gonzalez-Morales.
  • Eric Terrazas.
  • Miguel Perez.

The Rita G. Perez Exemplary Scholar Award honors a scholar who, like Rita Perez herself, exemplifies the whole package.

  • Natalie Melendez.

The Anita Cortez Award is awarded to a scholar for excellence in research, innovative thinking, grit and work toward social justice.

  • Cara Bruce.

The Developing Scholars Program is in its 22nd year at K-State. It supports first-generation and students from historically underrepresented groups in academia connect to undergraduate research opportunities. For students in the program, it provides professional, social and financial support. Faculty members interested in being research mentors can email Brenee King.

Learn more about the Developing Scholars Program.