1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Forty-two Kansas State University faculty members granted sabbatical leave

K-State Today

February 8, 2022

Forty-two Kansas State University faculty members granted sabbatical leave

Submitted by Tanya Gonzalez

Kansas State University is granting sabbatical leave to 42 faculty members during the 2022-2023 academic year.

The purpose of a sabbatical leave is to provide faculty members with the opportunity for scholarly and professional enrichment. Sabbatical leave allows faculty to pursue advanced study, conduct research studies, engage in scholarly and creative activities, or secure appropriate industrial or professional experience. Once faculty members return from their sabbaticals, they are expected to share the knowledge and experience they gained with their students, colleagues, and the K-State community.

The following faculty members have been granted sabbatical leave:

Adam Ahlers, horticulture and natural resources; Bacim Alali, mathematics; Katsura Asano, biology; Chardie Baird, sociology, anthropology, and social work; Doris Carroll, special education, counseling and student affairs; Steven Cassou, economics; Bongsug Chae, management; Mark Crosby, English; Kate Digby, music, theatre and dance; Ike Ehie, management; Jessica Falcone, sociology, anthropology, and social work; Wayne Goins, music, theatre and dance; Socorro Herrera, Center for Intercultural and Multilingual Advocacy; Laurie Johnson, political science; Kentino Kaadze, physics; Hyung Kim, landscape architecture and regional & community planning; Matthew Kirk, geology; Nina Lilja, agricultural economics; Romulo Lollato, agronomy; Max Lu, geography and geospatial sciences.

Anuja Madan, English; Yurii Maravin, physics; Jocelyn McDonald, biology; Hani Melhem, civil engineering; Kristin Michel, biology; Nancy Muturi, journalism and mass communications; Craig Parker, music, theatre and dance; Phillip Payne, music, theatre and dance; Bryan Pinkall, music, theatre and dance; Pavithra Prabhakar, computer science; Daniel Rolles, physics; Lisa Rubin, special education, counseling and student affairs; Dorivar Ruiz Diaz, agronomy; Thomas Sarmiento, English; Benjamin Schwab, agricultural economics; Joel Spencer, geology; Craig Spencer, mathematics; Amaud Temme, geography and geospatial sciences; Shirley Tung, English; Laura Valentin-Rivera, modern languages; Nelson Villoria, agricultural economics; and Harlan Weaver, social transformational studies.