1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Rewarding excellence: colleges recognize faculty for outstanding teaching, research...

K-State Today

May 6, 2011

Rewarding excellence: colleges recognize faculty for outstanding teaching, research and more

Submitted by Julie Fosberg

Several Kansas State University faculty members are being recognized by their colleges for excellence in teaching, research, service and advising. The honorees and their awards include:

* College of Agriculture: Dave Nichols, professor of animal sciences and industry, and Bryan Schurle, professor of agricultural economics, are the college's faculty of the fall 2010 semester. Fadi Aramouni, professor of food science, and Kevin Donnelly, professor of agronomy, are the faculty of the spring 2011 semester. Andrew Barkley, professor of agricultural economics, is the 2011 outstanding academic adviser.

* Architecture, Planning and Design: Susanne Siepl-Coates, professor of architecture, McElwee Faculty Teaching Award for her impact on students and the profession. Dennis Law, Distinguished Service Award, for his service as dean of the college from 1995 to 2009 and as a professor of landscape architecture and regional and community planning.

* College of Arts and Sciences: Stamey Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to Douglas Dow, assistant professor of art; Charles Martin, professor of geography; Amanda Murdie, assistant professor of political science; Salvador Oropesa, professor of modern languages; Ashley Rhodes, instructor of biology; and Santosh Ghimire, doctoral student and graduate teaching assistant in mathematics. The Stamey Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising goes to Christopher Culbertson, associate professor of chemistry, and Naomi Woods, associate professor of English.

* College of Business Administration: Gangshu "George" Cai, associate professor of management, Ralph E. Reitz Outstanding Teaching Award for demonstrating consistent excellence in the classroom; Dawne Martin, assistant dean for diversity, Kansas State Bank Outstanding Advising Award for her work with students; Amy Hageman, assistant professor of accounting, Developing Scholar Research Award for her work on the antecedents and consequences of tax policy and the decision making of taxpayers and tax professionals, which has been published in several journals.

* College of Education: W. Franklin Spikes, professor of educational leadership and director of the college's doctoral program in adult education, Faculty Excellence in Service Award for his service to numerous professional associations, state and national organizations and the university.

* College of Human Ecology: Tonatiuh Melgarejo, associate professor of human nutrition, Dawley-Scholar Award for Excellence in Student Development, which recognizes outstanding achievement in the personal/professional development of students; Sandra Stith, Faculty Research Excellence Award for her work in marriage and family therapy which has helped broaden the thinking about many aspects of intervention for martially violent couples; and Kevin R. Roberts, assistant professor of hospitality management and dietetics, Myers-Alford Teaching Award for outstanding teaching and contributions to the field.

* College of Veterinary Medicine: Matt Miesner, clinical assistant professor, Pfizer Animal Health Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award for excellence as a teacher, mentor and motivator; and Juergen Richt, Regents Distinguished Professor and Kansas Bioscience Authority Eminent Scholar, the Pfizer Animal Health Award for Research Excellence for his work on zoonotic diseases, which includes securing $12 million from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to establish the Center of Excellence for Emerging and Zoonotic Animal Diseases at K-State.