1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Be our guest: Orientation leaders ready to welcome new students to campus

K-State Today

March 6, 2013

Be our guest: Orientation leaders ready to welcome new students to campus

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

Making new students feel welcome and at home on the Kansas State University campus right away will be the job of 20 students selected to serve as 2013-2014 orientation leaders.

These select individuals inform new students about resources, services, activities and facilities available at the university through large- and small-group sessions.

To prepare for summer orientation and enrollment sessions, as well as the school year ahead, the new orientation leaders participate in training sessions during the spring semester and early summer, fine-tuning their knowledge of services and resources on campus. They also develop interactive presentations for new students and learn leadership skills.

Serving as 2013-2014 orientation leaders will be:

Logan Britton, junior in agricultural economics and agricultural communication and journalism, Bartlett; Eli Schooley, senior in political science, Clay Center; Ariel Mendiola, junior in sociology, De Soto; Ashley Herb, sophomore in business administration pre-professional, Eureka, returning orientation leader; Morgan Gauby, sophomore in business administration pre-professional, Great Bend.

From Greater Kansas City: Abigail Kaplan, sophomore in communication sciences and disorders, Leawood; Dominique Robinson, junior in public relations, Olathe; and Eleanor Dickens, sophomore in anthropology, Overland Park.

Abby Works, senior in chemistry, Iola; Christine Caban, freshman in marketing, Junction City; Leah Roth, junior in art education, Lyons.

From Manhattan: Marcus Kidd, senior in psychology; Daniel Preston, sophomore in milling science and management, returning orientation leader; and Jordyn Stephens, sophomore in English-creative writing.

Landon Leiker, sophomore in secondary education, Marion, returning orientation leader; Jonathan Wolfe, freshman in general engineering, Pittsburg; Hope Faflick, junior in political science, Wichita.

From out of state: Mackenzie Mong, sophomore in political science, Littleton, Colo., returning orientation leader; Kailynn Weyrauch, freshman in architectural engineering, Lee's Summit, Mo.; and Elizabeth Stone, freshman in food science and industry and biology, Middletown, Pa.