1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today Student Edition
  4. »Silver Key welcomes 2021-2022 members

K-State Today Student Edition

March 24, 2021

Silver Key welcomes 2021-2022 members

Submitted by Nolan Barton

Kansas State University's Silver Key, a sophomore leadership honor society, has selected new members for the 2021-2022 academic year.

To be eligible for Silver Key, students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, be a 2020 high school graduate and in their freshmen year at the university.

Silver Key members take part in a variety of community service projects throughout the semester. Past projects have included hosting children from the Boys and Girls Club at K-State Athletics events; partnering with the K-State Recycling Center; writing cards and making quilts for a local veterans center; collecting donations for the Manhattan Emergency Shelter; highway and neighborhood cleanup efforts; and afternoon visits to Stoneybrook and Meadowlark, senior living communities in Manhattan.

The following students, all who will be sophomores in the next school year, are members of Silver Key for 2021-2022; included are major and hometown:

Anya Pohl, communication science and disorders, Assaria; Clarissa Kiefer, marketing, Basehor; Delaney Parr, marketing, Benton.

From Greater Kansas City: Lauren Dornbusch, food science and industry, Fairway; Tim Foster, civil engineering, and Ian Heitmann, engineering, both from Leawood; Dylan Feist, biochemistry, and Juan Pineda Gomez, biomedical engineering, both from Lenexa; Noelle Chism, human resource management, Katherine Dickerson, biology and pre-medicine, Leah Heeren, biology and pre-veterinary medicine, Skylar Long, human development and family science, Logan Maurer, biomedical engineering, Richard Salmen, personal financial planning, Kobe Taylor, business/sales, Reagan Wiley, psychology and criminology, and Zach Wurtenberger, mechanical engineering, all from Olathe; Haley Chavey, microbiology and pre-medicine, Macey Franko, journalism and mass communications, and Caitlyn Hahn, marketing, all from Overland Park; Elizabeth Sandstrom, animal sciences and industry, Prairie Village; and Katie Free, nutritional sciences and pre-medicine, Shawnee.

Colton Vajnar, biological systems engineering, Hays; Payton DeMeyer, communication sciences and disorders, Hutchinson

From Manhattan: Elizabeth Chapman, political science; Grace Green, marketing; and Liz Wasinger, open option and pre-law.

Lane Johnson-Martinez, political science, Marysville; Anna Nason, nutritional sciences and pre-medicine, McPherson, Erin Rose May, nutritional sciences and pre-medicine, Oberlin; Makenzi Umphenour, open option, Pleasanton; Rachel Turek, athletic training and rehab sciences, South Haven

From Topeka:nLindy Karrer, biochemistry; Aaron Magill, mass communications; and Kale Stahl, mathematics and physics.

Kaleo Vincent, athletic training and rehab sciences, Valley Center; and Lauryn Mauler, animal sciences and industry, Wichita. 

From out of state: Aaron Sarkar, computer engineering, Barrington, Illinois; Alyssa Durrant, elementary education, Elgin, Illinois; Morgan Hecker, architectural engineering, Lee's Summit, Missouri, McKenna Wise, history, Springfield, Missouri; William Imig, engineering, La Vista, Nebraska, Clare Kohl, animal sciences and industry-pre-veterinary medicine, Surprise, Nebraska; and Mackenzie Morris, marketing, Dallas, Texas.