1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Making a difference: Kassebaum Scholarship to five high school seniors for leadership,...

K-State Today

February 6, 2013

Making a difference: Kassebaum Scholarship to five high school seniors for leadership, public service

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

Five high school seniors are receiving the Kassebaum Scholarship from Kansas State University.

Named in honor of former Kansas Sen. Nancy Kassebaum-Baker, the $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship recognizes students whose academic and extracurricular achievements reflect the potential for and desire to make a difference through energetic leadership in the public service arena.

The scholarship competition was Jan. 22. The university received 147 applications, and a selection committee chose 10 student finalists to interview for the Kassebaum Scholarship. Of those interviewed, five students were chosen to receive the scholarship, with the other five finalists receiving a four-year renewable scholarship.

The Kassebaum Scholarship has been awarded to 82 students since its inception in 2001. Kansas State University leads all public universities in the number of Truman, Rhodes, Goldwater and Udall scholars, and many of the university's recipients of these prestigious scholarships came from the Kassebaum Scholarship program.

"K-State is honored to recognize students who have a passion for public service and want to pursue a career in this area. I am confident these students will have a lasting impact here at K-State and do great things for our university," said Kirk Schulz, university president.

Kassebaum Scholarship recipients include Sarah Watkins, Derby, senior at Derby High School; Faith Johnson, Paola, senior at Paola High School; Amy Hein, Shawnee, senior at Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; and Cody Christensen, Topeka, senior at Washburn Rural High School. From out of state: Mandy Marchesini, Loudonville, N.Y., senior at Colonie Central High School.

Kassebaum Scholarship finalists include:

Audrey Schmitz, Axtell, senior at Axtell High School; Kaitlyn Connor, Lenexa, senior at Olathe Northwest High School; Patrick Kenney, Manhattan, senior at Manhattan High School; Jordan Reinhardt, Overland Park, senior at Blue Valley Northwest High School; and Tyler O'Briant, Tonganoxie, senior at Tonganoxie High School.