1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Kansas State University welcomes its newest class of undergraduate students

K-State Today

August 28, 2020

Kansas State University welcomes its newest class of undergraduate students

Submitted by Mariya Vaughan

On Aug. 16, Kansas State University inaugurated the 2020-2021 academic year by welcoming its newest class of undergraduate students to campus through New Student Convocation.

This year, we welcomed new students to the K-State community virtually. While the format may have been different, new students still joined together to watch in various ways: during their Wildcat WarmUp experience, with their professors in small in-person and online class watch parties, and with their peers, friends and families across the university and beyond.

"The K-State community is strong and proud, and with the addition of this entering class of students ... we just became even stronger," said President Richard Myers during his address to the incoming class.

All of the speakers encouraged new students to have a vision for themselves and their community while pursuing their degrees at K-State, and that building meaningful relationships is a key to their success.

A special thanks the following departments and individuals for their vision, hard work and dedication to the success of the New Student Convocation at Kansas State University.

Program speakers: Tyler Lockett; President Richard B. Myers; Provost and Executive Vice President Charles Taber; professor Andrew Smith; Distinguished Young Alumnae Mindy McBee and Sarah Sexton-Bowser; and student leaders Kale Mills, Jordyn Harris and Tel Wittmer.

Very special thanks: Vice Provost for Student Success Jeannie Brown Leonard; Director of the Staley School of Leadership Studies Mary Tolar; Division of Communications and Marketing; Mortar Board Senior Honor Society; President's Cabinet; Department of Housing and Dining resident assistants; Council of Deans; Student Governing Association president and vice president; and Greg Eiselein, Mariya Vaughan, Brent Weaver, Mandi McKinley, Jessica Kerr, Mackenzie Sleigh, Nick Lander, Anne Rubash, Andrea Luke, Wyatt Steining, Megan Campbell, Brianna Jackson, Jim Muller, Kelli Farris, Kiley Moody, Deb Pryor, Tyler Traxson, Holly Gerke and Allison DuLac.