1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Architecture students win scholarships in annual MANKO Design Competition

K-State Today

January 3, 2020

Architecture students win scholarships in annual MANKO Design Competition

Submitted by Megan Elzinga

Winning project by Kelsie DeWitt

Two students in the College of Architecture, Planning & Design received scholarships in the eighth annual design competition sponsored by MANKO Window Systems on Dec. 13 in Regnier Forum.

Kelsie DeWitt, a fourth-year architecture student, Hays, is receiving a $5,000 scholarship as competition winner for her project "CRIT (Colorado River Indian Tribes) Youth and Family Resource Center" from assistant professor Chad Schwartz's studio. The design was an assignment in her fourth-year comprehensive studio class, requiring students to integrate conceptual and technical knowledge into one complete project for a presentation with drawings, renderings and models.

Kazem Namazi, postbaccalaureate architecture student, Iran, is receiving a $2,000 runner-up scholarship for his project "Fisch Haus Black Box Theater" from associate Todd Gabbard's studio.

Following a review, one student from each of the department's five fourth-year studios was selected to compete for the MANKO awards, with each developing a narrative slide presentation to present to jurors, who were all established practitioners in the field.

The competition jury included Shelby Doyle, member of the American Institute of Architects, assistant professor of architecture and Daniel J. Huberty faculty fellow, Iowa State University; Khalid Khan, principal, Neumann Monson Architects in Des Moines, Iowa; and Grant Nordby, member of the American Institute of Architects and Shive-Hattery Architecture and Engineering in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

The following architecture students also were selected for the MANKO Design Competition:

Sid Jambunathan, Shawnee, representing the studio of Grant Alford, assistant professor of architecture; Garrett Klingaman, St. Charles, Missouri, representing the studio of Genevieve Baudoin, associate professor of architecture; and Carleigh Pope, Omaha, Nebraska, representing the BNIM studio.