1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Significant success: Faculty members receive recognition for dedication to students,...

K-State Today

May 14, 2012

Significant success: Faculty members receive recognition for dedication to students, university, research

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

Kansas State University colleges are honoring faculty members for excellence in teaching, research, service and advising in the 2011-2012 school year. The honorees and their awards include:

* College of Agriculture: Leland McKinney, associate professor of grain science and industry, and Andrea Sexton, assistant professor of animal sciences and industry, are the college's faculty of the spring 2012 semester; and KC Olson, professor of animal sciences and industry, is the college's adviser of the year.

* College of Arts and Sciences: The William L. Stamey Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Satoris Culbertson, associate professor of psychology; Abigail Jager, assistant professor of statistics; Christian Larson, instructor of kinesiology; Brett Sandercock, professor of biology; and Vladimir Bejan, doctoral student and graduate teaching assistant in economics. The William L. Stamey Excellence in Advising Award was presented to Carol Franko, associate professor of English.

* College of Business Administration: David Lehman, instructor of marketing, received the Ralph E. Reitz Outstanding Teaching Award for demonstrating consistent excellence in the classroom; Valerie Evans, instructor of management, received the Kansas State Bank Outstanding Advising Award for her work in advising students; and Reo Song, assistant professor of marketing, received the Developing Scholar Research Award for his research efforts in international marketing, innovation and diffusion, marketing and firm value relationship, advertising, and sustainability.

* College of Education: Lotta Larson, assistance professor of curriculum and instruction, received the 2012 Excellence in Graduate Teaching award for integrating her research, service and practical experience to facilitate student learning; and Teresa Miller, associate professor of educational leadership, received the Excellence in Advising Award for her significant commitment to advising and an ability to foster and encourage student growth.

* College of Human Ecology: Joy Kozar, associate professor of apparel, textiles and interior design, received the Dawley-Scholar Award for Excellence in Student Development, which recognizes outstanding achievement in the personal/professional development of students; Debra Sellers, associate professor of family studies and human services, received the Faculty Extension Excellence Award for her work on the needs of an aging population; Sherry Haar, associate professor in apparel, textiles and interior design, and Junehee Kwon, associate professor in hospitality management and dietetics, were presented with the Faculty Research Excellence award for superior accomplishment in scholarship, including research and creative activities; and Tonatiuh Melgarejo, associate professor of human nutrition, was awarded the Myers-Alford Teaching Award for outstanding teaching and contributions to the field.

* College of Veterinary Medicine: Steven Stockham, professor of diagnostic medicine and pathobiology, received the Pfizer Animal Health Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award for excellence as a teacher, mentor and motivator; Kyeong-Ok Chang, associate professor of diagnostic medicine and pathobiology, received the Pfizer Animal Health Award for Veterinary Research Excellence for his outstanding research on the development of novel therapeutic agents for norovirus infections; and Kenneth Harkin, professor of veterinary clinical sciences, received the Dr. William and Deanna Pritchard Veterinary Service and Outreach Award for his teaching and dedication to his clinical patients.