1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »K-State students named 2017 Scholars in Rural Health

K-State Today

August 9, 2017

K-State students named 2017 Scholars in Rural Health

Submitted by Noelle Blood

Six K-State pre-med students have been named 2017 Scholars in Rural Health. The program, run through the University of Kansas School of Medicine, is an early acceptance program that guarantees students a spot in medical school when they graduate and provides mentoring and other opportunities during their undergraduate career.

The program is only available to students who are from rural Kansas who are interested in building successful careers as physicians in rural areas.

The following students are K-State's Scholars in Rural Health:

Clayton Jackson, nutritional sciences, Cedar Point; Braden Johnson, biology, Concordia; Andrew Bruna, life sciences, Hanover; Katherine Rose, biology, Hiawatha; Natalie Sanders, life sciences, Hoisington; and Riley Burghart, biology, McPherson.

"It's great to see that our students are, once again, well represented in the KU Scholars in Rural Health Program," said Kaela Urquhart, K-State health professions advisor. "We are proud of each of these students for this tremendous accomplishment. It is a testament to their hard work and the rigor of our pre-med track."