1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Three K-State Libraries employees recognized for excellence

K-State Today

April 5, 2017

Three K-State Libraries employees recognized for excellence

Submitted by Sarah McGreer Hoyt

Tara Coleman

At a recognition ceremony on March 14, K-State Libraries honored three employees — Tara Coleman, Julie Bell and Duncan Robak — for outstanding contributions.

Tara Coleman, web services librarian, received the Brice G. Hobrock Distinguished Faculty Award. Annually, the award recognizes outstanding librarianship and superior accomplishments among the K-State Libraries faculty.

Coleman received her master's degree in library and information science from the University of Oklahoma. She leads the coordination, organization, maintenance and assessment of K-State Libraries' website. She has made several significant contributions to K-State First, the university's first-year experience program, including chairing the K-State Book Network and co-authoring "K-State First Guide to College Student Success."

One of her nominators said, "Tara works diligently to make K-State Libraries a user-oriented resource that supports the teaching and research needs of the university. Over the years, I have observed her dedication, the seriousness with which she performs her responsibilities, the long hours that she devotes and the genuine care that she has for our users."

Julie Bell, systems administrator, received the Dean's Award, which recognizes a nontenure track professional's contributions to K-State Libraries in the previous two academic years.

According to her nominator, "Julie has worked many years in a field where new trends, technologies and security concerns emerge almost daily. Despite these challenges, she balances an immense workload and has served the Libraries through interim departmental supervisor, mentoring and infrastructure improvements. She remains dedicated, and her positive attitude is infectious.

Duncan Robak, annex collection coordinator, was chosen as the Support Staff of the Year. This award recognizes a support staff employee's special contributions, dedication to daily tasks and ability to work successfully across the organization.

According to his nominator, "Duncan provides terrific customer service for both patrons and internal Libraries staff. I have received several positive comments from Interlibrary Services and Library User Services concerning his uncanny ability to locate hard-to-find items. Duncan has strong organization skills, and he is always professional."

Each winner receives a monetary prize, and their names are added to award plaques in Hale Library. The Brice G. Hobrock Distinguished Faculty Award was established by the Friends of K-State Libraries to honor Dean Emeritus Hobrock upon his retirement in 2004. Both the Hobrock Award and the Support Staff of the Year Award are funded through the Friends of the K-State Libraries.

In this issue

From the administration
News and research
Kudos, publications and presentations
University life
Volunteer opportunities