1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Staley School of Leadership Studies announces Lead 212 class leaders for fall 2017

K-State Today

March 29, 2017

Staley School of Leadership Studies announces Lead 212 class leaders for fall 2017

Submitted by Taylor Harrelson

The Staley School of Leadership Studies announces 57 students who will serve as class leaders for LEAD 212: Introduction to Leadership Concepts for the fall 2017 semester.

LEAD 212 is a one semester, two credit-hour course facilitated in two parts: large lecture sections of approximately 150 students, followed immediately by learning communities of small groups of 12-14 students. Peer educators, junior and senior level students called class leaders, facilitate these learning communities.

A unique feature of this course is the use of peer-led learning communities, a high-impact educational practice for leadership development. Students selected to serve as LEAD 212 class leaders will facilitate small group discussions, lead active-learning exercises, create a learning community with their students and perform administrative functions, such as grading, attendance, etc. These students serve as a bridge between students and instructors. They are motivated to help first-semester freshmen learn the academic discipline of leadership and adjust to the K-State campus community.

Class leaders began training this spring by completing several preparation and training sessions, enhancing facilitation skills, and participating in service learning opportunities. Approximately 700 first-year students will enroll in LEAD 212 for the fall semester.

The following students are new class leaders for fall 2017:

Charday Long, Abilene; Maren Berblinger, Buhler; Adam Carr, Bucklin; Paige Gumpenberger and Mackenzie Holcomb, both from Derby; Connor Davis, Ellsworth; and Jensen Strasser, Garden City.

From Greater Kansas City: Emily Polston, Madison Ogle, Kevin Hurt, Lauren Gay, all from Olathe; and Sarah Steiner, T.J. Eccles and Adrianna Gordey, all from Overland Park.

Jacob Boyce, Leavenworth; E.J. Charboneau, Lebo; and Rachel Wittry, Louisburg.

From Manhattan: Alyssa Frey, Paige Nickell, Summer Smith, Loan Tang and Madeline Wilson.

Larissa Ester, Mulvane; Madison Degnan, Rose Hill; Tori Burkhart, Strong City; Emily Klesner, Tyro; and Suvana Badgett, Valley Falls.

From Wichita: Elyssa Kohler, Rebekah Mally and Mia Taylor.

From out of state:

Gabrielle Coleman, Madison, Alabama; Adam Johnson, Palmdale, California; and Bailey Johnson, Boulder, Colorado. 

From Missouri: LeAnn Walker, Barnard; Christian Carter, Excelsior Springs; Molly Banwart, Joplin; Kylie Taylor, Lee's Summit; and Deneisha Abercrombie, Raytown.

Madeline Salerno, Omaha, Nebraska; Kennedy Schmitt, Clemmons, North Carolina; and Katie Philips, Kingwood, Texas.  

The following students are returning class leaders for fall 2017: 

Rachael Herter, Larned; Justine Moore, Manhattan; Hannah Carlgren and Josh Carlgren, both from Newton, Lauren Mertz, Overland Park; Taylor Anderson, Prairie Village; and Melissa Hollar and Kelly King, both from Topeka.

From Wichita: Marisol Garcia, Amanda Goebel and Mackenzie Pepper.

From out of state: Breanne Lombard, Northwood, Iowa; Chloe Nelson, Kansas City, Missouri; Sydney Peterson, Bennington, Nebraska; and Ashley Anderson, Firth, Nebraska. 

In this issue

From the president
From the administration
News and research
Shared governance
Kudos, publications and presentations
Volunteer opportunities