1. K-State home
  2. »SGA
  3. »Legislative Branch
  4. »Standing Committees

Student Governing Association

Governmental Relations Committee

The Governmental Relations Committee (GR) promotes issues central to K-State students’ success and interests at the local and state government levels. GR also supervises and maintains the SGA Lobby team. GR frequently works closely with governmental bodies such as the Manhattan City Commission on issues affecting K-State and its students. 

Committee Chair: Hayley Spellmanhds2015@ksu.edu | Minutes | Agendas

Travel Allocations Committee 

The Travel Allocations Committee (TAC) receives and reviews the travel funding requests submitted by various organizations on campus. TAC is responsible for choosing whether to fund or defund these groups based on the merits and educational value of the events. Finally, TAC audits all the Club Sports teams every spring and allocates funds based on the group's presentation, as well as, their submitted budget. 

Committee Chair: Carson Tjelmeland, carsont@ksu.edu | Minutes | Agendas

On-Campus Allocations Committee

The On-Campus Allocations Committee ensures that each student organization receives adequate and proportional funding for general budget purposes.

Committee Chair: Nils Bergsten, nilbergsten@ksu.edu | Minutes | Agendas

Privilege Fee Committee

The Privilege Fee Committee has a $16 million Privilege Fee Budget. The committee is responsible for the review of line-item fees and addressing issues of long-term financial planning. The committee makes recommendations on the continuance, discontinuance, or alteration of a line item fee. All recommendations may be overturned by the administration, but traditionally decisions have been upheld, giving the K-State SGA a degree of authority not possessed by most university student governments. 

Committee Chair: Jansen Penny, jansenpenny@ksu.edu | Minutes | Agendas

Senate Operations Committee

The Senate Operations Committee is responsible for overseeing SGA elections, appointments, Student Senate legislation, and impeachment/expulsion of SGA members. 

Committee Chair: Shelby Carpenter, sbcarpen@ksu.edu Minutes | Agendas

Student Engagement Committee

The Student Engagement Committee shall work to promote Student Government to the students, faculty, administration, and staff of Kansas State University and the Manhattan community. The committee shall also engage members of the K-State community in order to educate and collect feedback on campus issues. 

Committee Chair: Vedant Kulkarni, vedant1@ksu.edu | Minutes | Agendas