1. K-State home
  2. »Arts and Sciences
  3. »SASW
  4. »Sociology
  5. »Faculty

Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work

Administration

NamePositionEmail
Melander, LisaProgram Coordinatorlmeland@ksu.edu
Garni, AlisaGraduate Coordinatoramgarni@ksu.edu
Bachura, Gabriel
Academic Advisorgbachura@ksu.edu

Faculty

NamePositionResearch and Teaching AreasEmail
Baird, ChardieProfessor

Gender Inequality and Inequity in STEM, Gender Inequality and Inequity at Work and in the Home, Work and Occupations, Gender and Education

cbaird@ksu.edu
Briggs, JeremyInstructorPolicing; Mass Incarceration; War on Drugs; Criminological Theory; Inequality and the Criminal Justice Systemjsbriggs@ksu.edu
Garni, AlisaAssociate ProfessorInternational Migration; Economy and Society; Sociology of Development; Comparative and Historical Methods; Political Sociology; Qualitative Research Methodsamgarni@ksu.edu
Goe, RichardProfessorRural, Urban, & Regional Development; Research Methodology; Quantitative Methodologygoe@ksu.edu
Linnemann, TravisAssistant ProfessorSocial and Cultural Theory; Critical and Cultural Criminology; Police & Society; Drugs & Society; Crime & Mediatwl@ksu.edu
Medley, CorinaInstructorCriminology, culture, gender/sexuality, inequality, research methods, animals/animality, and the environment.cmedley@ksu.edu
Melander, LisaAssociate ProfessorCrime; Delinquency; Intimate Partner Violence; Familylmeland@ksu.edu
Middendorf, GeradProfessorRural and Environmental Studies; Sociology of Agriculture and Food; International Development; Science and Technology Studies; Contemporary Theorymiddendo@ksu.edu
Sanderson, MatthewProfessorGlobalization; Development; Migration; Environmentmattrs@ksu.edu
Shapkina, NadiaTeaching Assistant ProfessorGender; Globalization; Social Movements; Migration; Post-Socialismshapkina@ksu.edu
Steinmetz, KevinAssociate ProfessorCybercrime; Critical Criminology; Popular Culture and Crime; Inequality and Criminal Justice; Qualitative Methodskfsteinmetz@ksu.edu
Weyher, FrankAssociate ProfessorEmotions; Culture; Theory; Comparative & Historical Methods; Labor/Labor History; Political and Economic Sociology; Urban Sociology; Inequalityweyher@ksu.edu
Williams, SueProfessorGender; Criminology; Youth; Violence; Diversitylswilli@ksu.edu

Adjunct and Emeritus Faculty

FacultyPositionEmail
Adamchak, SusanAdjunctsadamcha@ksu.edu
Wood, SpencerAssociate Professor Emeritussdwood@ksu.edu

Graduate Students

Master of Arts

NameEducationResearch InterestsEmail
Borhani, Chrischelle  borhani@ksu.edu 
Davis, Logan Disability inequalitieslogan52@ksu.edu 
Ramirez, Jessica Food insecuritiesjessmramirez@ksu.edu 
Sadykova, Alina Gender-based violence, domestic violence, gender inequalitysadykova@ksu.edu 
Sears, DylanB.A. Oklahoma State UniversityWhite nationalism, white supremacy, right and left-wing social movements, state response to right- and left-wing social movementsdmsears@ksu.edu 
Schohr, AltaB.S. Kansas State University Veterans Rights, military veterans and their spousesachohr@ksu.edu 
Schultz, JordanB.S. Kansas State University jaschult@ksu.edu 
Shute, AustinB.S. Kansas State UniversityMedia, fear mongering, political rhetoric in the media, rural mediaatshute@ksu.edu 
Taylor, ReiB.A. Emporia State UniversityGender / Sexuality inequalities, Drugs & Societyrei13@ksu.edu 
Walrath, Nicholas Police power, pacification, the right to maim, necropolitics, less-lethal weapons, crowd control policing, crowd theory, air powerntwalrath@ksu.edu 
Webb, BrandyBID Emporia State UniversityOnline communities, technology-facilitated abuse, and Gender/Sexuality inequalitiesblhakala@ksu.edu 
Weiser, AbigaileB.A. Emporia State University Disability inequality, race/sex/gender inequalities, abortion rights and accessabigai20@ksu.edu 

 

Doctor of Philosophy

Name EducationResearch InterestsEmail
Anderson, JamilyaM.A. Kansas State University jamilya@ksu.edu
Brown, Ebo (George)M.A. Wichita State University gebrowne@ksu.edu
Brewer, ChristopherM.A. The University of Southern MississippiCybercrime, Hacktivism/Hacker Culture, Policingcgbrewer@ksu.edu
Cooper, KrystalM.A. Kansas State University  kkrystal@ksu.edu 
Dance, MattM.A. Boise State University mpdance@ksu.edu 
Eden, KarlyM.A. Kansas State UniversityEducation, social movements, social inequalities, genderkarlyeden8@ksu.edu
Edwards, Mari-EstherM.A. New Mexico State UniversityCommunity supervision, probation/parole, juvenile justice, social inequalities, cultural clashes, criminal justice systemmariedwards09@ksu.edu 
Esamwata, Joab

M.A. Madurai Kamaraj University, India

M.A. Kansas State University

International Migration, Race/Racial/Social Inequality, and Food Security and Educationjesamwa@ksu.edu 
Grant, KelliM.A. Wichita State UniversityFood in prison; mass incarceration; incarcerated women; race/gender.social inequality; law enforcement; women in policingkelli522@ksu.edu
Grube, John  johngrube@ksu.edu 
Karimi, Akram   
Knight, TrinaM.A. Kansas State UniversityVictimization, Technology, Media, Religion, Conspiracy tknight3289@ksu.edu 
McCarthy, AdrienneM.S. Eastern Kentucky UniversityCrimes of the powerful, Political economies, Theory, Right-wing ideology and right wing extremismmccarthya@ksu.edu 
Miller, Jacob

M.A. Kansas State University

Sustainable agriculture, absentee ownership, socio-cultural barriers to reducing irrigation, climate changetree11@ksu.edu 
Melich, JamesM.A. St. John's UniversityAgriculture, meat industry, food systems, and community well-beingjpmelich@ksu.edu 
Mpuan, Peter  pbmpuan@ksu.edu 
Pimentel, AlexandraM.S. Kansas State Univeristy pimentel@ksu.edu 
Saeed, AyeshaM.A. University of Notre DamePolitical sociology, development, social theory, narratives, agency, peace and conflictasaeed@ksu.edu 
Sitterle, DanielM.A. Kansas State University sitterle@ksu.edu 
Veitch, AdamM.A. University of South AlabamaSocial theory, popular culture, social stratification, political economy, historical sociology, developmentveitch@ksu.edu or sveitch@centralstate.edu 
Zhang, Teng

M.S. George Washington University

M.A. Universtiy of British Columbia

Social polarization, culture, and inequalitiestengzhang@ksu.edu