1. K-State home
  2. »Graduate School
  3. »Current Students
  4. »Graduate Student Council
  5. »Officers and Committees

Graduate School

Officers and Committees

If you have questions about the Graduate Student Council, are interested in joining a committee, or have ideas you would like to share with us, please email us at egsc@k-state.edu

2018-2019 Executive Committee

emily headshot

Emily Pascoe

PresidentPh.D. in Apparel, Textiles, and Interior Design


Manzamasso Hodjo

President-electPh.D. in Agricultural Economics 


Jessie Piper

SecretaryPh.D. in Human Ecology, Applied Family Science 

 Narmadha "Meenu" Mohankumar

TreasurerPh.D. in Statistics


Alisa Pajser Kerns

GSC-SGA LiaisonPh.D. in Psychology 

Graduate Student Council Committees

Awards & Recognition

Awards & Recognitions is a standing committee within the GSC. The committee works together to recognize graduate students for their achievements.

Preston Morgan



This committee is chaired by the treasurer and consists of members who volunteer to serve.

Luke Rijfkogel


Professional Development

GSC strives to provide informational meetings, workshops and forums that enhance the professional development of graduate students. The council promotes interdisciplinary activities to enrich graduate students' education beyond their own disciplines. The council also sends out information on various seminars held across campus every week to the council members, to be shared with their graduate student groups.

Kelsey McDonough
Jana Thomas

Michelle Busk
Annamarie Sisson
Renee Wilkins-Clark 

Public Relations

Public Relations is a standing committee within the GSC. This committee is responsible for promoting GSC initiatives and activities through weekly emails to the graduate student body and social media. This committee also develops materials to promote events and activities coordinated by other committees.


Research Forums

This committee is primarily responsible for organizing and promoting graduate and undergraduate research through the K-State Research Forum, Research and the State and the Capitol Graduate Research Summit.

Sarif Patwary
Kowshik Saha

Nicholas Neumann
Bhupi Sandhu
Nathan Voss
Nannan Shan
Patalee Buddhika Mallika Appuhamilage

Student Affairs

The Student Affairs Committee is part of the Graduate School Council seeking to provide student support and services, engage students through events and activities, and enhance student growth and development. We provide programming through social events and offer activities geared for improving the well-being of all graduate students. This committee is also responsible for considering issues related to international graduate students.

Ayyappan Elangovan
Nandini Sarkar

Erika Davis
Patalee Buddhika Mallika Appuhamilage
Meetha James

University Representative Committees

Health Insurance

This representative works to keep graduate students informed on changes to the Kansas Board of Regents Student Injury and Sickness health insurance plan.


K-State Libraries

One graduate student represents the GSC on a committee formed by the K-State Libraries to discuss how the K-State Libraries can better serve students, faculty and staff.

Audrey Opoku-Acheampong

Rec Services 

One graduate student appointed by the GSC serves on a 12-member voting council with the purpose of the Recreational Services Council being to serve as a general governing and policymaking body for the Recreational Services Department. The Council is responsible to the assistant vice president of Institutional Advancement, and is charged with overseeing the Recreational Services program for: Students, Faculty/Staff, Alumni, Guests, and others as authorized by council.

Alayna Colburn

Governmental Relations 

Chaired by the Governmental Relations Director, this committee is comprised of campus community interest group representatives, such as the Faculty Senate president, SGA leadership or representatives, a GSC representative, deans from the colleges, and other administrative members of the President's Cabinet. The committee meets weekly in the spring to hear an update of the happenings in the Kansas Legislature and of those items of interest to K-State and higher education.


Union Governing Board

For more information, see the website.

Jana Thomas

Women of K-State

Women of K-State is an initiative that coordinates the efforts for the recruitment, retention and advancement of the women of K-State. The mission is to create a structure and support system that helps K-State provide a superlative environment for the growth and advancement of all women.

Michelle Washburn-Busk

Graduate Student Senators
  • Gibson Akers
  • Glen Buickerood
  • Nicole Grandy
  • Kylie Andres
  • Marcus Kidd
  • Russell Harp
  • OPEN
  • OPEN
Honor Council
  • Trenton Colburn
  • Judith Bautista
  • Matthew Harder
  • Nicholas Sevart
  • Chelsea Dixon
  • Christopher Satterfield
  • John Hutson
  • Candace Gatson
  • Danielle Sutter
  • Tracee Watkins
  • Hunter Stanfield
  • Jana Thomas
  • Christina Wilson
  • Alexis Carpenter
  • Jin Kim
  • Hilary Dalton