1. K-State home
  2. »Diversity and Inclusion
  3. »Initiatives
  4. »Diversity Point People

Diversity and Inclusion

Diversity Point People

DPPs have the following roles, within their various Colleges/Departments

  • Strategic planning, leadership, and accountability for diversity.
  • Assisting in the creation of a college strategic plan for diversity, aligned with the university’s Strategic Plan for Diversity.
  • Coordinating the college diversity committee, or acting in the capacity of staff support/dean’s liaison.
  • Assisting in the recruitment and retention of underrepresented faculty and staff.
  • Assisting in the recruitment and retention of underrepresented students.
  • Assisting in identifying and working with Faculty Diversity Fellows, in the colleges where this is appropriate.
  • Promoting curriculum transformation (cutting edge pedagogy; infusion of Tilford competencies, internationalization, etc.).
  • Assisting in fundraising efforts to support the college’s strategic plan for diversity and the university’s plan, as appropriate.
  • Assisting with special initiatives and projects/events, as requested.
  • Attending the coordinating meetings for college Diversity Point People organized by the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer.

Membership Roster FY 2020

AreaMemberEmail
Agriculture

Zelia Wiley
Assistant Dean
785-532-5793

zwiley@k-state.edu
Architecture, Planning & Design

Wendy Ornelas
Professor
785-532-1119

wornelas@k-state.edu
Arts and Sciences

Kimathi Choma
Assistant Dean
785-532-6904

kchoma@k-state.edu
Business Administration

Olivia Law-DelRosso 
Instructor
785-532-6986

olivia@k-state.edu
Education

Pedro Silva Espinoza
Teaching Assistant Professor
785-532-5550

pedro1@k-state.edu
Engineering

Laverne Bitsie-Baldwin
Director of Multicultural Engineering Program
785-532-5949

lbaldwin@k-state.edu
Health & Human Sciences

Shawna Jordan
Assistant Dean
785-532-0151

jordan@k-state.edu
K-State Libraries

Michelle Bowen
Director of Human Resources
785-532-5671

mibowen@k-state.edu
K-State Olathe

Christine Splichal
Director of Communications and Marketing
913-307-7341

csplichal@k-state.edu
K-State Polytechnic

Lindsey Dreiling
Executive Director
785-826-2972

lindseydreiling@k-state.edu
Veterinary Medicine

Callie Rost
Assistant Dean
785-532-4036

cmrost@vet.k-state.edu
Graduate School

Sunanda Dissanayake
Associate Dean
785-532-6191 

sunanda@k-state.edu