1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2014
  6. »Veterinary Medicine

About K-State

2014 College of Veterinary Medicine Achievements

Nutrient-protecting "peanut brittle" for cattle cancer just one of the 13 U.S. patents awarded to K-State researchers this year.

• Toxicology society recognizes Jim Riviere, university distinguished professor of pharmacology and director of the Institute of Computational Comparative Medicine, and Abhilash Sasidharan, postdoctoral fellow in anatomy and physiology.

• Two veterinary medicine students earn national scholarships to help with their careers in large-animal veterinary medicine.

• National bovine association honors Jacob Hagenmaier, a concurrent third-year veterinary medicine and doctoral student in the College of Veterinary Medicine.

• A second-year veterinary student earns a $4,000 research stipend through the Morris Animal Foundation's Veterinary Student Scholars Program.

• A concurrent third-year veterinary medicine and doctoral student in the College of Veterinary Medicine receives the American Association of Bovine Practitioners' Bovine Student Recognition Award.

Nancy Monteiro-Riviere, regents distinguished scholar and university distinguished professor, is a highly cited researcher.

• High honor: Meena Kumari, associate professor of anatomy and physiology, receives the 2014 Service Award of the Association of Scientists of Indian Origin in America.

• Four Kansas State University veterinary students joined the ranks of scholarship recipients in the U.S. Army Veterinary Corps under the F. Edward Hébert Armed Forces Health Professions Scholarship Program.

• Leadership earns veterinary medicine student Kyle Clymer honor from Western Veterinary Conference.

• Two veterinary medicine students earn $1,000 scholarships from the Academy of Veterinary Consultants.

• The $2,000 Zoetis/American Veterinary Medical Association Student Scholarship has been awarded to 18 veterinary medicine students at K-State.

Erica Hamman and Megan Guyan, first-year veterinary students, are the only two recipients in the nation of the 2014 U.S. Air Force scholarship for public health officers. The scholarship pays for the students' second, third and fourth years of veterinary school in exchange for three years of active-duty service after graduating. 

 • The American College of Veterinary Microbiologists named M.M. Chengappa, university distinguished professor and head of the diagnostic medicine and pathobiology department, as its 2013 Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist of the Year. January 2014




2013 Veterinary medicine

2012 Veterinary medicine

2011 Veterinary medicine

2010 Veterinary medicine

2009 Veterinary medicine

College of Veterinary Medicine