1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »National scholars
  4. »Truman Scholars

About K-State

Truman Scholars

K-State is first in the nation among public state supported universities and seventh overall in producing Truman scholars since the program began in 1977. The Truman provides up to $30,000 toward graduate study.

2011 Melanie J. Hall, Junction City

2010 Amy Sents, McPherson

2009 Dena Bunnel, Welda

2007 Jenna Kennedy, Hoxie

2006 Kourtney Bettinger, Beloit

2005 Victoria Luhrs, Overland Park

2004 Brooklyn Lippelmann, Lyons

2003 Jessica Burch, Wichita

2002 Leslie Small, Arkansas City

2000 Sarah Glaser, Emporia

1998 Ryan Bock, Kansas City

1998 Timothy Riemann, Derby

1997 Vicki Choitz, Salina

1997 Justin Kastner, Manhattan

1996 Shanté Moore, Junction City

1994 C. Charles Walters, Anoka, Minn.

1992 Scott Truhlar, Ellsworth

1991 Alicia Poteat, Fort Riley

 1991 Jean Sonnenfield, Omaha, Neb.

1989 Kristy Parker, Valley Center

1989 Clint Riley, Manhattan (alternate)

1988 Mary Hale, Topeka

1988 Sharon Patnode, Abilene

1987 Janice Norlin, Concordia

1987 Jeff Wing, Altoona

1986 Kent Bradley, Lawrence

1986 Lori Shellenberger, Ransom

1985 Patty Hipsher, Wichita

1984 Cindy Leighton, Overland Park

1983 Brad Russell, Topeka

1983 Tracy Turner, Great Bend

1982 David Carlin, Smolan

1982 Mike Gibson, Portsmouth, N.H.

1980 Peggy Grosh, Manhattan