1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2014
  6. »Arts and Sciences

About K-State

2014 College of Arts & Sciences Achievements

• National excellence: The Kansas State University Marching Band wins the Sudler Trophy, one of the nation's highest honors for collegiate marching bands.

• Researchers earn patent for synthetic compounds that could help cells fight cancer.

• International accolade: Physics professor Uwe Thumm recognized for accomplishments with the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Award.

• High recognition: K-State's Christopher Sorensen, Cortelyou-Rust distinguished professor of physics and university distinguished teaching scholar, named 2014 fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Geography students earn honors at joint regional meeting of the Southwest and Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Divisions of the Association of American Geographers.

Susan Brown, professor of biology, receives a prestigious Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Awards.

• Simply the best: The Wildlife Society recognizes journal article co-authored by K-State's Brett Sandercock, professor of biology.

• Influential professor: Human Resources MBA names Wendong Li, assistant professor of psychological sciences, as one of the 30 most influential industrial and organizational psychologists alive today.

María-Teresa DePaoli, associate professor of modern languages, receives the 2014 Nueva Latina Estrella Award in the education category.

• Hitting the right notes: School of Music, Theatre, and Dance earns All-Steinway School designation.

• Inaugural award winner: Greg Eiselein among first recipients of Kappa Alpha Theta's Outstanding Faculty Member award.

• Going down under: Matthew Sanderson, associate professor of sociology, to serve as visiting research fellow at the Australian Population and Migration Research Centre.

• Read all about it: National Newspaper Association recognizes Gloria Freeland, assistant professor of journalism and mass communications.

Bimal Paul, professor of geography, to represent Association of American Geographers at U.N. climate change conference in Peru.

• On-air talent: Journalism and mass communication students take home honors in competition.• And the Emmy goes to: Bryan Pinkall,K-State assistant professor of music.

• She's Miss Incredible: Becki Walenz, instructor of trumpet in the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, wins a national contest and is featured in a music video for singer-songwriter Mark Ballas' latest single, "Miss Incredible."

• Quality assured: K-State's chapter of Gamma Theta Upsilon, the international honor society in geography, earns national Honors Chapter Award for 2014.

• Phi Kappa Phi recognizes new graduate Jenny Barriga with prestigious fellowship.

• Meet the university's newest Gilman scholar, who is using the scholarship to further her plans to one day teach English in Japan.

• The college's Sierra Lekie is a 2014 Cargill Global Scholar.

• Two K-State students are 2014-2015 Fulbright U.S. Student Award winners.

• National Endowment for the Humanities awards fellowship to Andrew Orr, assistant professor of history.

• Physics professor Brett DePaola invited to participate in a national panel discussion for Jefferson Science Fellows.

• Fulbright winner: John Mahoney, associate professor of philosophy, has earned a Fulbright grant for the Kyrgyz Republic in Central Asia.

Power meeting: Melissa Lynes, doctoral student in agricultural economics, and Hedieh Shadmani, doctoral student in economics, will attend a select meeting this summer with Nobel Prize recipients in economics.

Adam Summers, doctoral student in physics, receives a National Defense Science and Engineering Fellowship from the U.S. Department of Defense and the American Society for Engineering Education.

• Master communicator: Gloria Freeland, assistant professor of journalism and mass communications, won a first-place award for her online blog, Kansas Snapshots, from the Kansas Professional Communicators.

• Jakki Forester, Edge editor for The Kansas State Collegian, is the first-place winner of the general news reporting from Region 7 of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Clint Gregory, doctoral student in biology, is an honorable mention recipient in the highly competitive and prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program.

Ross Allen, junior in economics and philosophy, is the university's newest Harry S. Truman Scholarship recipient.

• Two K-State students — a chemistry major and a mathematics major — earn the 2014 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

• A K-State senior in English wins the $6,000 national Phi Eta Sigma Scholarship.

• The 2014 Edward C. Dimock Prize in the Indian Humanities goes to K-State cultural anthropologist Jessica Marie Falcone for her manuscript, "Battling the Buddha of Love: A Cultural Biography of the Greatest Statue Never Built."

Douglas N. Dow, art, publishes the book "Apostolic Iconography and Florentine Confraternities in the Age of Reform," which examines the art patronage of three different confraternal organizations at a crucial moment in their histories.

Ranin Kazemi, history, is the winner of the Prince Dr. Sabbar Farman-Farmaian Research Project Fellowship from the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam, an advanced Institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Joye Gordon and Bonnie Bressers, journalism and mass communications, receive the third annual Industry Research Forum Award from the Council of Affiliates of Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication and the Scripps Howard Foundation.

• Kansas State Collegian managing editor Jena Sauber is one of eight collegiate journalists selected for the 2014 National Newspaper Association Foundation News Fellow program.

• Eight of the nine cadets with K-State's Air Force ROTC detachment are selected for the U.S. Air Force's rated position of pilot, beating the national selection average of 79 percent for a rated position and 52 percent for students seeking to be rated as pilots.

Uwe Thumm, professor of physics, is a Femtosecond and Attosecond Science and Technology fellow at the Swiss National Center of Competence in Research Molecular Ultrafast Science and Technology.

Nora Bello, assistant professor of statistics, co-authored the best paper by an International Biometric society member in the Journal of Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Statistics.

Rabia Akhtar, doctoral student in security studies, is one of 16 junior scholars who will attend the Woodrow Wilson Center's Nuclear Proliferation International History Project's 2014 Nuclear Boot Camp in May near Rome, Italy.

• Three master's students in geology received scholarships from the Kansas Geological Foundation. Logan Kelley received the $1,000 Knighton Family Scholarship and Megan Wall and Anna Downey each received a $1,000 scholarship.


2013 Arts and Sciences

2012 Arts and Sciences

2011 Arts and Sciences

2010 Arts and Sciences

2009 Arts and Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences