1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2012
  6. »Salina

About K-State

2012 K-State Salina Achievements

* K-State Salina's Flight Team earned the right to compete in the national SAFECON competition for the fourth consecutive year after placing second at the Region VI competition, Oct. 7-12, hosted by Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant, Okla. K-State Salina won several other awards at the event, including the Safety Award, which is given to one team that demonstrates safety in all aspects of the competition. The Flight Team also placed second overall in both flying events and ground events. November 2012

* K-State Salina aviation students are the recipients of two of the 13 scholarships awarded annually by the National Business Aviation Association. Nicole Lordemann, senior in airport management, received the $5,000 Alan H. Conklin Business Aviation Management Scholarship, and Megan Henderson, senior in professional pilot and technology management, received the $4,500 Lawrence Ginocchio Aviation Scholarship. November 2012

* An agreement between K-State Salina and ExpressJet Airlines, the largest Delta Airlines regional partner, is an opportunity for K-State Salina aviation students to receive conditional offers of employment as first officers with the regional airline. Students who successfully complete the program requirements are given a conditional offer of employment with ExpressJet, or placed in the prescreened candidate pool to be offered employment at the next opportunity. October 2012

* Two K-State Salina faculty members are serving in leadership positions with the American Society for Engineering Education's Midwest Section. Raju Dandu, professor of mechanical engineering technology, is chair of the Midwest section for 2012-2013. He served as chair-elect in 2011-2012. As chair, he represents the section on the society’s Zone Three executive board. Les Kinsler, professor of computer systems technology and interim engineering technology department head, was named programming chair for the Midwest section. He will organize the section's annual conference. The society's Midwest section includes educators and business leaders from Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma.

* Alysia Starkey, assistant dean of academics and director of libraries at Kansas State University Salina, recently graduated from the Higher Education Resource Services, or HERS, Denver Summer Institute, July 22 through Aug. 5 at the University of Denver. She is the first woman administrator from K-State Salina selected to participate at the prestigious institute. August 2012

* Margaret Presley, instructor of social work at Kansas State University Salina, has been named the 2012 Social Worker of the Year by the Smoky Hill Association of Social Workers. To be eligible for the award, the nominee must be currently providing professional social work services in central Kansas. Presley has worked in the social work field since 1970. April 2012


2011 K-State at Salina

2010 K-State at Salina

2009 K-State at Salina

K-State at Salina