1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Anthropology hosts annual symposium, honors current students with awards

K-State Today

May 10, 2024

Anthropology hosts annual symposium, honors current students with awards

Submitted by Jessica Falcone

Current and retired faculty give the coveted Ottenheimer Award in Adventurous Anthropology

The anthropology program of the sociology, anthropology and social work department hosted its annual Sapiens Symposium on April 26 to honor current students, as well as returning anthropology alumni from the late 1990s cohort. Before the awards ceremony, several current students gave short research presentations, and returning alumni and retired professors gave short talks.

In addition, the anthropology program distributed several thousand dollars in awards and scholarships to anthropology majors for their extraordinary accomplishments. Congratulations to the following awardees:

  • Grace Schaefer, Harriet J Ottenheimer Scholarship in Linguistic Anthropology. 
  • Brinna Wellington, Patricia J O'Brien Scholarship in Archaeology. 
  • Susanna Jones, Biological Anthropology Achievement Award. 
  • Abigail Ried, Cultural Anthropology Achievement Award. 
  • Wyatt Mattingly, Anthropology Ambassador Award. 
  • Kat Rieke, Ibn Battuta Award for Excellent Research Paper.
  • Keat Prescott, Ottenheimer Adventurous Anthropology Award, funding summer research travel. 

The anthropology program thanks its special guests:

  • Michael Finnegan, retired distinguished fellow of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences.
  • Harald Prins, retired distinguished professor of cultural anthropology.
  • Bunny McBride, award-winning author, journalist, anthropologist and museum curator.
  • Kate Cillessen, M.D. '97, director, integrated health practice: VHA Office of Health Informatics.
  • Rebecca Lester, MBA '98, director of foundation relations at the K-State Foundation.
  • Marcia Locke '95: director of communications and marketing, K-State College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Ben Ward '98, instructional technologist and game designer.
  • Brian Wygal '98, director of anthropology, Adelphi University.

In this issue

From the president
From the administration
Human resources, benefits and training
Personnel changes
Kudos, publications and presentations
University life
Volunteer opportunities